We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was pretty bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Budget Auckland Central
Ranked #53 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had read the reviews and knew we weren't heading to the Ritz! Everything everyone has written before me is true BUT the rooms were clean and tidy as was the linen. It was hot, noisy and stinky. Am unsure why only one set of ear plugs and one tea bag are provided! Definitely not on our list of places to return too but it was dirt cheap and you get what you pay for....

Room Tip: Friend stayed in 1401 and it was much bigger than ours. Corner rooms are bigger(slightly)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ljc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Let's be clear. I have traveled a lot in the last few years, and I do not expect to get nonsense like this in a supposedly civilised country. There are tricks of the trade, which you can get away with, and there is abject laziness, penny pinching and poor hygiene, which you can't.

The location of the hotel itself is a poor start. It is landed in the middle of the bars/sky tower/kebab shop/nightclub zone and in fact there is a nightclub right next door.

The decor upstairs reeks of poverty and bad ideas. There used to be a suspended ceiling in there but rather than replace the filthy or broken tiles, the owners have just removed them all and painted the ceiling void black along with all the pipes and cables, leaving the frames in place. It's wierd and dismal. Air fresheners fire constantly to mask something, we couldn't tell what as the air fresheners themselves could have dispersed a rioting crowd.

The room was dirty and unpleasant. There was an overpowering smell of urine. Dust was piled up in the corners. The appliances would have been better suited to a museum, the TV was a 10" CRT unit around 20 years old and the fridge and microwave were similarly ancient. There was a hotplate of some kind and a stainless steel countertop around 900mm long. It was ancient and battered.The room is really too small and pokey to cook in without making all the clothes and bedding smell of dinner. Just rip it out and put a chair there instead, it would be safer and more useful.

The bathroom was a miniature packaged chamber with just enough room to stand under the showerhead and trip over the toilet when turning around. The heated towel rail was "not connected for heating" according to the sticker next to it. Energy conservation, or just broken? who knows?

Something on the wall had been painted over. The whole wall should have been done, as the old paint was dirty enough to show a clear edge where the new paint joined it. No luck there either.

Yes, we found the earplugs too, and thought, "Seriously? this is their solution to noisy guests?" Apparently so. We were on the 8th floor. There was already a party going on on the 9th and litter being thrown off the balcony in the late afternoon. Actually sleeping here would seem to be a pretty desperate move.

Heating, ventillation and air conditioning: None. Open the window and endure the noise and loose objects; close the window and fumigate yourself.

Worth also mentioning that there is no parking available here. Staff will direct you to a pay and display carpark opposite which will charge you an arm and a leg for any length of stay, so add this to the cost of your stay along with a hefty dry cleaning bill. For myself, if I wanted to waste all my money and wake up feeling terrible and smelling of filth I'd go to the nightclub next door, get absolutely wrecked and sleep it off in a wheely bin. It would make for a better story afterwards than staying in the hotel itself.

Thankfully it was early enough in the day to just bail out, so that's what we did - We found somewhere else and left the Ibis well alone. I advise anyone else to do the same if you are after an actual hotel rather than just a nasty doss house.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rivnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The only good thing to say about this hovel is it's in a good location. That it really.

Rooms are minuscule and the bathrooms are a complete embarrassment. The noise from the surrounding nightclubs is appalling.

First hotel I have ever stayed in that wanted to charge by the hour for bag storage as room wasn't ready when we arrived.

Be warned.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Viffermyhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Disappointed with the room. Very back packer like accommodation. Room had a bad smell and when I went to reception to complain I was questioned about the smell by the young receptionist. The more senior receptionist intervened and told his colleague to give us another room. This room wasn't much better but at least the smell wasn't as bad. Very noisy outside as near main road and bars but they do provide ear plugs. Shower tap fell off in my hand! Also, on Accor's website (who own Ibis) they state all their hotel check out times are 11am but we were told it was 10am even after querying it. When checking out we asked to leave our baggage for a few hours with reception. Every other hotel we have stayed at will offer this as a complimentary service but the Ibis Styles charge $5 for it!
Would not return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cass_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel is the worst I have stayed in. Tiny room, noisy, the carpet was damp. The TV was very old and barely worked. You know you're in trouble when the room comes with a camomile teabag and earplugs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Without doubt this hotel is the most disgraceful hotel I have ever stayed. I am shocked that Accor would allow such a substandard hotel to be part of their chain. The rooms are ridiculously small which is sometimes expectable but the bathroom/toilet is not much bigger than an aeroplane toilet. The towels had brown stains on them and they forgot to service the room on one occasion. There was no cupboard to hand my suit except what was a smelly meter box. No air-con meant having to leave balcony door open which meant no sleep as the all night city noises were a nightmare. The ear plugs provided (warning signs when I saw them) didn't help. A cockroach crawled across the kitchen bench and it was humourless to see you could actually cook in the unit considering there was nowhere to eat. The tiny TV set came with no remote control, no big deal considering your feet nearly touched the screen when in the bed. The staff tried to be helpful but they couldn't book any other accor hotel in Auckland. When checking out I was dismayed to see they served the breakfast in the lobby. I will never return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This place wasn't terrible but it wasn't great either. very very small rooms, the equipment all needed a bit more care. We were on level 6 and could hear the nightclub next door, but it wasn't as bad when we shut the windows, but beware there is no air con so can get stuffy. I suppose it wasn't great but we still felt that it was on value considering it was so cheap, so if all you need is a place to rest your head, it will do.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donanap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 65 in Auckland Central
706 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 65 in Auckland Central
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 65 in Auckland Central
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 65 in Auckland Central
944 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Auckland Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Auckland Central

Address: 20 Wyndham Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly All Seasons)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: £52 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Auckland Central 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Budget Auckland Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Formule 1 Hotel Auckland
Auckland Formule 1 Hotel
Ibis Budget Auckland Central New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing