We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT THE BEST CHOICE” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Budget Auckland Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Budget Auckland Central
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“NOT THE BEST CHOICE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

I had selected a room on a higher level, for a higher price, to be sure I was above any street noise. But that put me in a room a few metres below a massive light which shone into the room all night. No amount of juggling with the curtain and blinds could keep out the billiant white light.

The room was very small and had no real hanging space. As a solo traveller it was just about OK, but with two people in, it would have been a very tight squeeze.

The room rate included continental breakfast, juice, fruit, a choice of one of three cerals and toast. Not too bad for the $10. However, did the staff have to select 0745 as the time of day to vacuum (badly) the floor of the cafe area, and then to mop it?

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandNeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    290
    487
    429
    475
See reviews for
159
711
376
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

Great central city location. Compact accomodation - comfortable bed, however wet area (shower/toilet) begining to smell rather unpleasant. Shower/basin drainage very slow - shower threatened to flood the entire room during use.Small wardrobe/cupboard with rail too high to reach (no hangers anyway). Complimentary tea/coffee, but not so much as a teaspoon is supplied.(Cooking utensils can be hired). Very noisy - I was on the 10th floor, and the street noise Fri/Sat night meant sleep was not an option till after 3pm. Ear-plugs recomended. Carpets in hallways stained and worn, and elevators stink of cheap disinfectant. Stayed there a couple of years back, and apart from the noise, it was quite acceptable. Has slipped since then. Dodgy electronic key meant trying to get into the room became a bit of a lottery.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HonkytonkTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

When we checked into the hotel, the desk clerk (only one) was talking on his cell phone and ignored us for the first two or three minutes, then he checked us in and as we proceeded to our rooms i noticed a stench in the hallways, as did my friends, which smelled like urine. Upon entering our room I could barely stand the smell of dried urine throughout the entire hallway and room itself. I went back down to the lobby to complain of the stench and the desk clerk informed me that they had gotten complaints of this nature in the past??? I asked for another room and the desk clerk proceeded to send me to 12 different rooms throughout this filthy hotel, and every room smelled the same. I asked to speak to the manager and was told that there was no one except himself there, and there would be a manager on in the morning. When i voiced my concerns to the manager i was told that it must be the cleaning supplies that are used and that there was nothing that could be done about the smell. I asked the manager what he planned on doing to make my stay more comfortable and he said there was nothing he could do for me. I checked out immediately, and refused to pay for the rest of the nights that i had booked. EXTREMELY DIRTY AND DISGUSTNG HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwtiggr2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Well located, near by paid car parks, but not as good as the others accor hotels, staff were okay, but when I asked if I could get points on airlines, one staff said " we are not Hilton" they are not indeed! they are far to be compared to Hilton, but the price is good, location okay, just few blocks away to skycity, and the marina, nelson street, so they wil get "average" today!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Very noisy place. There are nightclubs at both side of the hotel,so forget sleeping over there:)) Hotel was clean and nice,so a place to stay after party at night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raulliivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We booked in foer 3 nights, but after the first, relocated to the Mercure Auckland abandoning our prepaid tariff. whichThe All Seasons was later described to us by several tourism operstors as a "budget -budget - backpackers". I agree with that.

What you don't get in your room is aircon, face towels, crockery, cutlery (except 2 mugs), any guest guide (i.e. how to operate phone, TV etc), any cleaning materials for dishes, no plug for wash basin, no spare toilet paper roll

There is no chair, no table or desk, no bedside lamps to read by, no wardrobe, nowhere to store a single suitcase with out having to circumnavigate it. The bathroom floods as the shower drain is obviously blocked. The extract fan is broken. No spare electrical outlets in the room. Mould on walls and windows in the room.
Basic small TV, manually operated (no remote) which had only 4 channels.
The "double" bed is no more than a three quarter, at best
The noise from the street on a Saturday night makes sleep impossible. There are 4 night clubs in the vicinity and streams of yahoos stream up and down the street screaming and shouting from 9pm until at least 5am (and we were on the 14th floor!) Yes the location is good as far as being central, if the noise is not taken into account.

The "coffee shop/restaurant" jammed into the entry lobby, comprises a few basic tables and chairs and a minimal menu. We were not tempted by it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dickB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

I don't even know where to begin with this, but this "hotel" was an absolute shocker.

Stains in the hallways and rooms, smelly rooms, tiny rooms with beds of odd sizes is the first thing. You'll be sleeping with your legs off the end of the bed here. Also, sheets are changed every 3 days(?!)

The bathroom was tiny, overflowed and was ill-equipped. They'd even turned off their towel rail to "save the environment" - what a joke. If you want to use the "kitchen" you need to pay $20 for plates, as well as a $20 deposit on top of that.

For some reason I bought "continental" breakfast here, which ended up being eggs and bacon on toast with cereal... not sure what these guys are thinking. The front desk guy wanders in when they get busy and starts frying up, and even with his help our breakfast took over an hour, then they tried to get another $20 out of us for it!! Definately DO NOT eat this.

There's no heating in the rooms either, except a crappy fan heater OR a oil fin heater with no legs. Brilliant.

Also, the website promised a "large LCD tv" and "FREE Wireless internet" which apparently translates directly into "12" 1980's TV" with "Audio Tape Player" and "Wired internet you have to pay $50 an hour for." If anyone wants to dispute this, you can clearly see the banner here: http://www.all-seasons-hotels.com/gb/discovering-allseasons-hotel/all-inclusive/index.shtml

Avoid this hotel at all costs, unless you really can't afford the $10 extra for up the road.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owenwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.0 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Auckland Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Auckland Central

Property: Ibis Budget Auckland Central
Address: 20 Wyndham Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly All Seasons)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Auckland Central 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Ibis Budget Auckland Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Formule 1 Hotel Auckland
Auckland Formule 1 Hotel
Ibis Budget Auckland Central New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing