We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I signed up for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Budget Auckland Central
Ranked #55 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
A TripAdvisor Member
“Not what I signed up for”
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I booked the hotel expecting (from the pictures and descriptions on the website) it to be an actual hotel with a separate bedroom, bathroom and kitchen- it was a tiny room with a cramped bathroom and bed right next to the kitchen. Like a backpackers really. The walls were filthy, there were hairs on the bathroom floor and brown marks on the walls.
the room was not like the description on the website at all. The service by the staff was terrible, they were so rude even before I complained about the room- and I dont usually complain
I got the rooms on special for $98 per night! I hate to think what the usual price was! So I asked for my money back and thankfully was refunded.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllSeasonsAuckland, General Manager at Ibis Budget Auckland Central, responded to this review, 9 December 2010
Thank you for you feedback regarding the hotel, regarding the photos on the website they are taken from the entrance door so I am not sure why the impression of having a separate bedroom from the kitchen area would have come about as it is common to have the bedroom with the kitchen in the same room and a separate room for the bathroom as per the hotels rooms. I passed the comments regarding the staff’s attitudes on to the front office team,

Regards,

Zac Lumsden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    302
    500
    432
    481
See reviews for
163
726
384
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I would rate this hotel as Excellent. Excellent in the sense it's a budget hotel. So bear that in mind.

Some of the nuff nuffs - in the reviews below - expect five star service for a room that is around 70 dollars a night.

So remember the rooms are compact, there is no room service, bathrooms are kind of weird with the shower and toilet being so close together, and linen is changed every three days. Things of that nature.

Still the bed was very comfortable. Nice firm mattress. With quality linen and a nice selection of pillows. Great location, yet NOT in a noisy part of the city, and switched on people at reception. Plus I paid about $70.00 a night.

Only thing I would say is don't bother paying the extra $10.00 for a room with a view. The view is nothing special. Hints of the harbour poking between buildings is nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepy_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Smelly turpentine-like smell as you enter the lift, an ensuite like a head on a boat or in a caravan, where the shower and toilet share a wet floor. Poor sleep cos' no noise insulation - have slept in better back-packers often.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivfiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Waitara
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2010

This Hotel is terrible. On entering we knew this was not going to be good. The room was like a dog box, old stained carpet, a disgusting purple wall behind the bed . The drapes all mouldy and dirty. There was a hot plate for cooking but not a utensil, pan, plate etc.
We were told that we could hire these at $20 and also pay $20 deposit. all the places we have stayed at have always suppied all kitchen equipment. The shower room had no window and the floor flooded all around the toilet. This is the worst place we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenWaitara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Want budget? This is it. Comfy bed, secure and mostly clean room (not spotless), in middle of town. No aircon - possibly a prob in summer. For $69, good value.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#29 of 67 in Auckland
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Auckland Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Auckland Central

Property: Ibis Budget Auckland Central
Address: 20 Wyndham Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly All Seasons)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budget Auckland Central 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Budget Auckland Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Formule 1 Hotel Auckland
Auckland Formule 1 Hotel
Ibis Budget Auckland Central New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing