We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality in a quiet place”
Review of Sunderland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunderland House
Ranked #8 of 60 Auckland B&B and Inns
Norddeutschland
Level 6 Contributor
807 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 610 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality in a quiet place”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Location:
This B&B is located in a quiet side street but just a five minute walk will bring you to the beach side and a 10 minutes bus ride and you are downtown. There are lots of restaurants within easy walking distance as well.
Hosts:
Don was a wonderful host being extremely helpful with directions to go around and for the restaurants nearby always willing to help and gave a lot of helpful advice on our travel to the north.
Room: A nice room not too big but spotlessly clean (the green room) and a bath with all needed amenties and a large spatub which was wonderful after an 11 hour flight to Auckland.
Breakfast:
A real large fruit platter, toast, eggs, to your linking, a choice of cereals and freshly made savoury muffins made for a wonderful start in the day. We had it in the library which is worth a look in itself.
Specials: There is of course the dog which really likes to be patted. We had free port, free chocolate, some wine, some cookies and cake so all in all we were more than happy on that day. We did only try the indian restaurant but can fully recommend that. Only 500m of walking and very reasonable prices for good inidan food.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
173
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Great night at Sunderland House. Beautiful breakfast and lovely hosts! Lots of little touches, making it feel like home away from home. Couldn't ask for much more. Less than 10 minutes bus ride into the city centre, making it a great option to get away from the hustle and bussle of city life. Highly recommend. Hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacTravels07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

After a 24 hour flight from Amsterdam we arrived in Auckland NZ and stayed for three nights in Sunderland House to re-energize a bit. From the very first beginning we felt us very welcome.

In the Premier Suite it felt as our second honeymoon, with a great view on the centre of Auckland, a wonderful bed and the claw foot bath tub. Just great!

Donald is a wonderful host and makes you a great breakfast with heaps of fruit, muffins, croissants, toast and home-made muesli with yoghurt. Ask him for a flat white, he serves great coffees!!

He also helped us with the planning of short trips in Auckland and the rest of our further trip in NZ; booking of a car, places to stay, interesting things to see, etc.

A very warm welcome.

Suzanne and Niels

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nielsk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junction City, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

If you're coming to visit to NZ, chances are you are arriving after a grueling 10+ hour flight. The Sunderland House was the perfect place to catch up on sleep and adjust our schedules before diving into the rest of NZ. The breakfasts feature huge fresh fruit trays, amazing muffins (apple, ginger/rhubarb, etc), coffee, orange juice, toast, croissants and cereal with yoghurt or milk.

My wife and I stayed in the Premier suite, which has a wonderful view of downtown Auckland from the private balcony. There was also a good-sized claw tub that my wife was particularly fond of. As if that's not enough, there is also a large shower in the bathroom.

Internet, port, and assorted pastries were all complimentary.

Our hosts, Donald and Kathy were both very helpful with answering questions and arranging for transportation to take us into the city. There is a nice library and lots of framed costume designs that were drawn by Donald himself.

In coming to NZ we were looking for an initial place to refresh ourselves before heading out to the rest of the sights. The Sunderland House definitely surpassed our expectations and was a great intro to NZ hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james09173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The Sunderland House is a fantastic bed & breakfast! The hosts, Donald & Kathy, are full of passion for life and have such caring personality, and it completely shows in the space they graciously prepare for their guest and in the manner they make sure a fantastic, restful stay is had. Every morning, you wake up to freshly baked goodies and a refreshing fruit platter, complemented with a full array of fresh beverages, cereal and yogurt. Then before you set out for your day, Donald and Kathy make sure you have all the knowledge you need to have a great time. As an example, Donald was able to direct us around a toll road with a scenic drive that got us to our location almost as quickly. And if there's leftovers from breakfast and there usually is because of the huge spread they put out, they're happy to bag it up for you to take and munch on as snacks throughout your day. After a fun day of relaxation, you return to relax in one of the 3 wonderfully decorated, clean comfortable rooms. Each room has its own unique character and comes complete with ensuite bathroom, walk-in closet and all the facility you need to relax and refresh. We stayed in the Red room, the smallest of the 3, and felt perfectly at ease with the space. At any time if you need a snack, a common area in the midst of the bedrooms is constantly stocked with home-baked goodies and an assortment of tea, hot chocolate and coffee.

The Sunderland House is perfectly situated in a suburb right on the outskirt of CBD to act as your home away from home for your exploration of Auckland and the surrounding areas. Ponsoby street is nearby for all your dining and boutique shopping needs, as are several supermarkets should you need to pick up some supplies or edible souvenirs. Major highways and petrol stations are easily accessible, and the airport is about 25 minutes away.

If we ever visit Auckland again, Sunderland House will be right at the top of our lodging list for sure!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CafeSuDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Don is an excellent host and we felt very welcomed. Every room's details are perfects
This is a place we could live happily for the rest of our life!
Paolo & Patty

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streatley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Excellent accommodation and outstanding hosts, friendly, knowledgeable and really went out of their way to help. Home from home and more...
Good location for seeing Auckland city (by bus) whilst not quite in the city. Close to some excellent restaurants and walks and not far (10 mins walk) from the well known Ponsonby Road area.
Breakfasts were filling, lots of choices, excellent fruits with fresh made muffins the highlight, but no meats...perhaps the only criticism.
Top of the price range but you get what you pay for: top quality B&B. It was our first stop in NZ and it set the standard by which we measured every other B&B.
Let Ben the dog take you for a walk around the area and down to the water.
The Laws

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
315 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland
685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 60 in Auckland
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
#5 of 60 in Auckland
521 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 60 in Auckland
517 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland House

Property: Sunderland House
Address: 1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunderland House is located in an historic inner city area noted for its grand Victorian villas, award winning restaurants, charming beaches, fashionable shopping and trendy Ponsonby. Designed in the period of Herne Bay's villas, Sunderland House has been purposely built as a Boutique Bed & Breakfast, and cleverly combines Victorian style and charm with the luxury of contemporary facilities including free wireless internet. The three suites are sumptuous, light and peaceful and feature lofty cathedral ceilings, en-suite bathrooms, elegant antiques, a warm soothing colour palette, comfortable beds pressed crisp linen and includes complimentary port, delicious home baking, tea and coffee. We are dedicated to ensuring your stay with us is perfect by accommodating your every need whilst maintaining your privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunderland House Hotel Auckland Central
Sunderland House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing