We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunderland House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Parnell Pines Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$178
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tudor Court Motor Lodge(Auckland Central)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VR Auckland City(Auckland Central)
US$150
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$170
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stamford Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$190
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$172
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$92
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$54
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
227
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We spent 3 nights at Sunderland House in February. We could not have hoped for any better hospitality. Donald and Kathy were so welcoming and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. After a16 night cruise our stay was just the icing on the cake and the perfect way to end our visit to New Zealand. If you get the opportunity to stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennisaddict_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

It was a pleasure having you stay after your cruise and help you to restore your land lubber legs. With your early morning arrival we were glad to welcome and accomodate you, ply you with flat white coffees, freshly baked muffins and generally relax you into to your days adventures. Thank you for your review but most of all thank you for your great company.
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My husband and I had great time staying here. It really felt like you were staying at your friend's house (but with all the fabulous services that a high end hotel gives you!). Donald spent so much time giving us great advice on where to go in not only Auckland, but in New Zealand as well. The The food and baked goods were delicious - I had to ask for three different recipes when I left. We stayed in the pink room which was beautiful and spacious. It has a balcony overlooking Auckland where you can watch the sunrise. The location was perfect - near great shops and restaurants. It is also quite easy to catch the bus into town or spend an hour walking along the waterfront to get to the center. Arrange a taxi through Donald and it only costs $40. We took one from the airport ourselves and it cost us almost $100.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for your great review and it was a pleasure to be able to help advise on so many different levels . I guess being born & breed Aucklander's the information to give out is well and truly intrenched into our beings and we get great enjoyment pointing our guests in the right direction and how to avoid the odd pit fall. Glad to be of assistance with happy memories.
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We began our 4 week New Zealand holiday at Sunderland House and it was a great place to start our trip. Donald has thought of everything in his design of this lovely property. The room was spacious and luxuriously appointed. Tea and coffee was always available in the communal area outside the bedrooms and the breakfast was delicious. Thoroughly recommended to anyone looking for quality accommodation in Auckland.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

A wonderful review and thank you for taking the time to write it. As a well established interior designer I have endeavored to make the suites unique, each having their own elegant style and difference, yet still relaxing and hopefully inspirational for our guests. Thank you again for all your fine comments, Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This is a great place to stay - excellent accommodation, friendly, superbly located, first rate breakfast. We will certainly return if we are in Auckland. It was great to be treated so personally as though we were guests rather than people passing through. The close access to a number of very good places to eat in a relaxed and safe part of town was a real bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massacio1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for taking time out to write a review and how pleased we are to know that our personal service is acknowledged. We believe that our guests well being is within our hands and try to make their stay as personal (without being overwhelming), comfortable with elegant sufficiency of all those little complimentary extras that make their stay memorable. Thank you once more and hopefully we may have you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We arrived at Sunderland House at 2am after a long flight. Donald was there to welcome us to his lovely home. After a good sleep in our lovely room we came downstairs to be welcomed by Donald into the bright, sunny kitchen and sun room beyond where we ate breakfast. The breakfast was delicious and included fresh home made muffins and bread complemented with home made preserves. Donald loves cooking and it shows. We also enjoyed the beautifully laid out fruit platter with sweet pineapple,strawberries, and golden kiwi fruit which were new to us and so much nicer than the type we have in the UK. Delicious, good quality coffee. We also liked the extensive library, for our use, chocolates and port in our room, the kindness of Cathy and Donald, to whom nothing was too much trouble. We were given advice as to where to go on our first day of our eight weeks tour of New Zealand, which local restaurants to visit whilst we were in Auckland, plus where to go when we set off on our travels. We stayed for two nights at the beginning of December and wished we could have stayed to be pampered for longer.We have only recently arrived home, hence the delay in writing this review. Thank you Donald, Cathy and Ben, we have lovely memories of our stay with you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for your review it is so appreciated. The 2am Arrival after a long flight can be a killer for our guests so we always make the effort of a personal welcome to Sunderland House, making sure that they are well settled into the room and ready to unwind with our complimentary port and chocolates. Relaxed, knowing that the beds are incredibly comfortable and to wake up to the smell of freshly baked muffins. Thank you again,
Kind regards
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews