We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Introduction to NZ”
Review of Sunderland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunderland House
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed here on the first night of our three week trip to NZ from the US upon reading the glowing reviews on this site. Donald and Kathy were so welcoming and very understanding with our early morning arrival in Auckland. We stayed in the Red Room which was more than comfortable for our nights stay and we indulged in the baked goodies and port! Donald offered some great sightseeing options for our first day as well as dinner in Ponsonby that evening. A wonderful way to kick off our trip and everything the reviews spoke of!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

We know how those early morning arrivals can be a killer after a long distance flight. Where ever possible we will try to have the suite ready for our guests and ply them with espresso coffee and the morning muffins. We were pleased to be your first port of call and able to do just that.

Hopefully the rest of your journey was equally relaxed and wonderful. Thank you for the review and trust if you come back to Auckland you will be able to stay longer and get to know us better,

KInd Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

This B&B is really beautiful. The house and rooms are elegantly designed with the most beautiful furniture, central location to town and the house just had a wonderful feel about it. Donald was a true gentlemen in every shape and form and we just adored "Ben", what a well mannered pooch he is. The room its self was stunning with a lovely view, all the facilities were of a high standard and Donald's baking was delish! This place is 5 star and is the place to stay if travelling around Auckland.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

It was a delight to read your review and be part of making your Auckland experience a happy memorable one. I will keep on making "Delish" baking morsels as I know it is those little treats that people remember, besides I love to cook.

Thank you again and hopefully we will see you in the future
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

There aren't enough words to describe how perfect and beautiful the Sunderland House is. We were impressed the moment we approached the entrance as there was a hand-written sign with our names to welcome us! Donald gave us a little tour after we settled down and we were blown away at the amazing decor and personal touches.

There were three room options and we decided to splurge a little with the Premier Suite - but no regrets there at all! The room was spacious with an ensuite bathroom, spa bath and balcony. There was also a little powder room and storage area for our suitcases. Other features such as luxury toiletries, room fresheners, insect repellent were very thoughtful and appreciated as well. If that wasn't enough, Donald also placed freshly baked goodies in the common pantry area outside our room, in case we got hungry at point during the day! Both him and his wife Kathy were very helpful in providing recommendations and information about the surrounding area and Auckland in general. Thanks to them, we visited a beautiful winery on Waiheke Island, and explored the local museum and parks!

Breakfast every morning was also quite a treat with an amazing spread - from homemade muffins and muesli, to freshly cut fruit and juices. Dining in the lovely outdoor verandah was a bonus because one can easily spend hours unwinding there, with its lush greenery and gorgeous furnishings. It is not a surprise that this B&B is right up there at #1! Definitely returning here on our next visit to NZ :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhavna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

We are always humbled by reviews that guests have written and your review made us feel that our striving for guests to have the perfect stay has all been worth it. It also gives other trip advisor readers an indication of what we have to offer in quality and friendship, which is sometimes hard to relate on our web site. Thank you again and trust your memories of NZ will always stay.
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed here in November(apologies for late review) and could not have asked for a better start to our New Zealand adventure. Donald perfect host and every detail is thought about. Beautiful room , great breakfast and the decanter of port with whittakers choccies is icing on the cake- I became addicted to the Hokey Pokey! Decor is beautiful throughout .
Nothing is too much trouble and the walk into Auckland centre is good. Easy bus links and the Ponsonby area is very nice for lovely shops and cafe culture. By far the best place to stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottyjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

We appreciate your review from your November visit. It is wonderful that the memory of Sunderland House lingers in your thoughts as a great place to stay. For us the detail, the comfort and the little extras are all part of the experience and we love doing it.
Thank you again
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We began and ended our trip in Sunderland House. Donald and Kathy are excellent hosts who are very helpful and willing to go the extra mile. More like visiting friends.
The rooms are beautifully and thoughtfully decorated. They are very clean with lots of extra touches and the beds are very, very comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities are available with home made biscuits to enjoy.
Breakfast is continental style but with home made breads, muffins and muesli and freshly squeezed orange and a lovely fruit platter.
Sunderland House is minutes from a bus route so you can leave the car and easily get your way around Aukland. It is just a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for your review, it was great to be able to top & tail your NZ vacation with all the home comforts that a traveler needs and misses when they are away,
We enjoyed your scottish warmth and friendliness as well,
Kia Ora Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A last minute booking and we could not have been happier! As mentioned in other reviews - Donald and Kathy are the perfect hosts - welcoming but never intrusive - we felt very much at home. Our room- the Green room, decorated in keeping with the style of the House - was also perfect. Many extra touches included - port & chocolates - and homebaked biscuits/tea etc. Breakfast, outside in tropical garden setting, was also superb -without hesitiation this place is worthy of 10/10 and would certainly recommend to anyone visiting Auckland. (Location is ideal for those who want to walk or use public transport too)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

WOW !!! -10 out of 10, thank you so much for your review. We try to make the experience unique for each guest and hopefully provide the perfect stay, this keeps us on our toes making sure everything required is thought through and generously provided.
Thank you again,
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We've just spent 3 very happy nights at Sunderland House and didn't want to leave. We were given a really warm welcome from Donald and Kathy which made us feel immediately at home and this feeling continued throughout our stay. Donald had already advised us that a car wasn't really necessary as the location is ideal, being a few minutes walk away from a bus service that takes you into the city. He and Kathy are a mine of information about what to do and where to go, local knowledge like theirs is invaluable when you're new to a city. Our room was beautifully decorated and comfortable, a testament to Donald's design skills. Many other reviews mention his legendary breakfasts, well they're not exaggerating. The fruit platter is a joy whilst intake of the homemade bread and muffins has to be rationed due to them being so moreish. Should we come to Auckland again, we would not consider staying anywhere else in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarBid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Having you stay was equally a pleasure for us and to give us such a rave review simply makes our efforts all the more rewarding. We do our best to make our guests welcome and as avid travelers ourselves hopefully have an insight into what fellow world wanderers may be requiring from the big picture to the small details. Most of all we are happy to oblige with what ever request one may be asked and to give a unique experience of NZ hospitality.
Thank You again, Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
332 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#35 of 66 in Auckland Central
714 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 62 in Auckland Central
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B...
#4 of 62 in Auckland Central
208 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 62 in Auckland Central
529 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
#13 of 62 in Auckland Central
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland House

Address: 1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: £98 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunderland House is located in an historic inner city area noted for its grand Victorian villas, award winning restaurants, charming beaches, fashionable shopping and trendy Ponsonby. Designed in the period of Herne Bay's villas, Sunderland House has been purposely built as a Boutique Bed & Breakfast, and cleverly combines Victorian style and charm with the luxury of contemporary facilities including free wireless internet. The three suites are sumptuous, light and peaceful and feature lofty cathedral ceilings, en-suite bathrooms, elegant antiques, a warm soothing colour palette, comfortable beds pressed crisp linen and includes complimentary port, delicious home baking, tea and coffee. We are dedicated to ensuring your stay with us is perfect by accommodating your every need whilst maintaining your privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunderland House Hotel Auckland Central
Sunderland House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing