We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Start for our NZ Travels”
Review of Sunderland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunderland House
Ranked #8 of 60 Auckland B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Start for our NZ Travels”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Sunderland House is a fantastic base from which to explore Auckland. As a B&B it checks all the boxes you might expect (tidy rooms, comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, quiet street), but then does so much more as well. The house itself has a lot of character and is well finished throughout. We stayed in the Green Room and were very happy with the soaker tub (fits 2 comfortably). The house has free wifi, and lovely relaxing sitting areas in the small library / back garden / balcony - equally good for enjoying breakfast or a final nightcap. There are several nice little restaurants and a pub within a 5 minute walk. But if you want to get downtown, it is only a 2 minute walk to a well serviced bus-stop, which makes getting around a breeze. Tea and coffee, as well as jars of home-made cookies are freely available 24/7. And breakfast was outstanding - cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit platter, home-made bread, jam and muffins, great coffee - it'll set you up for hours.

But the best of it are your hosts, Kathy & Donald; they are incredibly warm and friendly, and excellent conversationalists. They allowed us to check in very early (7am - following a long-haul flight), and were already up to greet us. Throughout our stay they provided us with many excellent suggestions for things to see and do during our time in Auckland. We have no hesitation in recommending Sunderland House, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iva-and-James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
It was a pleasure having you stay and thank you for your review.
As we purpose built Sunderland House we new how important it was to have other areas for guests to enjoy and relax besides their well appointed rooms. It gives the opportunity to meet fellow travelers and share experiences and knowledge, as well as allowing us to get to know our guests better and maybe enjoy in a bottle of wine together.
We were thrilled with your comments and makes our efforts all the more worth while.
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
173
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed in the Premier Suite for 3 nights. It was a very large bedroom with a small balcony, and had windows on 2 sides with city and district views. It was extremely comfortable and quiet, and very well maintained. Everything had been thought of, and it was a lovely place just to hang about in. It was furnished in an eclectic period style (not our preferred style but nonetheless very charming).

It was walking distance to restaurants and interesting shops, and the bus into town (though in Auckland having your own car is preferable to relying on public transport). The neighbourhood is a mixture of quaintly charming and inner city hip. We've stayed downtown before and this area is far more interesting.

As hosts, Donald and Cathy were great - friendly, urbane and helpful.

The breakfasts were delicious and tea and coffee and home made snacks were available outside the room 24 hours.

On the basis of this visit we have already booked a return stay.

Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rqf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
We are always delighted when people take the time to right a review and it is appreciated. Thank you so much.
We try to make each guests stay unique and different to their own home environment so it was wonderful to know you appreciated our elegant eclectic taste and enjoyed it. As an interior designer I also know how important it is not to clutter the room, creating the right mix and providing a relaxed comfortable environment, from your review it sounds like we have achieved that.
Thank you again, we enjoyed your company immensely and look forward to your return visit in August.
Donald & Kathy Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed here on the first night of our three week trip to NZ from the US upon reading the glowing reviews on this site. Donald and Kathy were so welcoming and very understanding with our early morning arrival in Auckland. We stayed in the Red Room which was more than comfortable for our nights stay and we indulged in the baked goodies and port! Donald offered some great sightseeing options for our first day as well as dinner in Ponsonby that evening. A wonderful way to kick off our trip and everything the reviews spoke of!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
We know how those early morning arrivals can be a killer after a long distance flight. Where ever possible we will try to have the suite ready for our guests and ply them with espresso coffee and the morning muffins. We were pleased to be your first port of call and able to do just that.

Hopefully the rest of your journey was equally relaxed and wonderful. Thank you for the review and trust if you come back to Auckland you will be able to stay longer and get to know us better,

KInd Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This B&B is really beautiful. The house and rooms are elegantly designed with the most beautiful furniture, central location to town and the house just had a wonderful feel about it. Donald was a true gentlemen in every shape and form and we just adored "Ben", what a well mannered pooch he is. The room its self was stunning with a lovely view, all the facilities were of a high standard and Donald's baking was delish! This place is 5 star and is the place to stay if travelling around Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
It was a delight to read your review and be part of making your Auckland experience a happy memorable one. I will keep on making "Delish" baking morsels as I know it is those little treats that people remember, besides I love to cook.

Thank you again and hopefully we will see you in the future
Donald & Kathy Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

There aren't enough words to describe how perfect and beautiful the Sunderland House is. We were impressed the moment we approached the entrance as there was a hand-written sign with our names to welcome us! Donald gave us a little tour after we settled down and we were blown away at the amazing decor and personal touches.

There were three room options and we decided to splurge a little with the Premier Suite - but no regrets there at all! The room was spacious with an ensuite bathroom, spa bath and balcony. There was also a little powder room and storage area for our suitcases. Other features such as luxury toiletries, room fresheners, insect repellent were very thoughtful and appreciated as well. If that wasn't enough, Donald also placed freshly baked goodies in the common pantry area outside our room, in case we got hungry at point during the day! Both him and his wife Kathy were very helpful in providing recommendations and information about the surrounding area and Auckland in general. Thanks to them, we visited a beautiful winery on Waiheke Island, and explored the local museum and parks!

Breakfast every morning was also quite a treat with an amazing spread - from homemade muffins and muesli, to freshly cut fruit and juices. Dining in the lovely outdoor verandah was a bonus because one can easily spend hours unwinding there, with its lush greenery and gorgeous furnishings. It is not a surprise that this B&B is right up there at #1! Definitely returning here on our next visit to NZ :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhavna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
We are always humbled by reviews that guests have written and your review made us feel that our striving for guests to have the perfect stay has all been worth it. It also gives other trip advisor readers an indication of what we have to offer in quality and friendship, which is sometimes hard to relate on our web site. Thank you again and trust your memories of NZ will always stay.
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed here in November(apologies for late review) and could not have asked for a better start to our New Zealand adventure. Donald perfect host and every detail is thought about. Beautiful room , great breakfast and the decanter of port with whittakers choccies is icing on the cake- I became addicted to the Hokey Pokey! Decor is beautiful throughout .
Nothing is too much trouble and the walk into Auckland centre is good. Easy bus links and the Ponsonby area is very nice for lovely shops and cafe culture. By far the best place to stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottyjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
We appreciate your review from your November visit. It is wonderful that the memory of Sunderland House lingers in your thoughts as a great place to stay. For us the detail, the comfort and the little extras are all part of the experience and we love doing it.
Thank you again
Donald & Kathy Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We began and ended our trip in Sunderland House. Donald and Kathy are excellent hosts who are very helpful and willing to go the extra mile. More like visiting friends.
The rooms are beautifully and thoughtfully decorated. They are very clean with lots of extra touches and the beds are very, very comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities are available with home made biscuits to enjoy.
Breakfast is continental style but with home made breads, muffins and muesli and freshly squeezed orange and a lovely fruit platter.
Sunderland House is minutes from a bus route so you can leave the car and easily get your way around Aukland. It is just a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for your review, it was great to be able to top & tail your NZ vacation with all the home comforts that a traveler needs and misses when they are away,
We enjoyed your scottish warmth and friendliness as well,
Kia Ora Donald & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
315 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland
685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 60 in Auckland
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
#5 of 60 in Auckland
521 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 60 in Auckland
517 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland House

Property: Sunderland House
Address: 1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunderland House is located in an historic inner city area noted for its grand Victorian villas, award winning restaurants, charming beaches, fashionable shopping and trendy Ponsonby. Designed in the period of Herne Bay's villas, Sunderland House has been purposely built as a Boutique Bed & Breakfast, and cleverly combines Victorian style and charm with the luxury of contemporary facilities including free wireless internet. The three suites are sumptuous, light and peaceful and feature lofty cathedral ceilings, en-suite bathrooms, elegant antiques, a warm soothing colour palette, comfortable beds pressed crisp linen and includes complimentary port, delicious home baking, tea and coffee. We are dedicated to ensuring your stay with us is perfect by accommodating your every need whilst maintaining your privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunderland House Hotel Auckland Central
Sunderland House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing