We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable B&B”
Review of Sunderland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunderland House
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at Sunderland House last week -- could not have been happier with the experience and believe me we are picky ! Donald the owner/operator is fabulous and very warm and welcoming. Attention to detail everywhere. Would not stay anywhere else in Auckland, period !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Although we strive for perfection on ones stay we also don't want to be "stuffy" about doing so.
It was great that we achieved your high standards with your visit. For us our B & B is all about effortless service with elegant suites and a friendly approach. Thank you for your review we trust you will be back soon,
Kind Regards
Donald Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Sunderland House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed at Sunderland House our last two nights of our New Zealand trip, and it was a perfect ending. As soon as we arrived we were greeted warmly by Donald and his wife Kathy. Since it was a Sunday night, and we happened to be the only couple staying for that night, we were immediately upgraded to the largest room with a great view of the skydome. The room was beautifully decorated with lots of space. Breakfast was fabulous...served in the library with fresh fruit and home-baked muffins.

We liked walking around the area of Ponsonby with its restaurants and shops. It was very easy to get a bus to the city center so we left our car parked in front of the bed and breakfast for the two days.

Donald was a joy to talk with, and he was so accommodating. Our flight did not leave until the evening so we could keep our luggage there and freshen up before we had to leave for the airport. If you are going to be visiting Auckland, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you for the review and well pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found local transport easy and efficient. It is not always possible to upgrade our guests owing to future bookings but yours was one of those occasions it was a pleasure to be able to do so. As we are well traveled we know that dragging suitcases around the city on your last day is jolly inconvenient so we are more than happy to oblige and a freshen up before the flight just makes traveling home a little less daunting. We are lucky to be able to live in such a fine area of Auckland, Herne Bay and Ponsonby we regard as our villages yet we are so close to the CBD.
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I've seen the B&Bs in different countries and continents, and for most of them having the tourists is just a business, they just pretend to be a second home for the tourists.
This particular Sunderland House B&B is a pleasant exception, we are REALLY felt there like in home, even it was a home far away from ours. The rooms, furniture, linens, atmosphere, kindness of owners made this staying like with a close, lovely relatives.

In any hotel one thing is important how it looks like inside out, but I believe most important thing is how the hoteliers react to your requests and issues. I was surprised to see how the B&B owners reacted to our requests– ALWAYS very kindly, quickly and effective. I could expect this level of service in a good 4/5 stars hotel only.

Another amazing impression from this B&B is absence of any kind of insects, so you can leave windows and door to balcony open and enjoy fresh air all the time. You can see the city's high-rises and Mt. Eden right from the balcony, so beautiful and quiet view…

The bus stop is just few steps from B&B, fare to the city's center is 1.90 NZD and if including suburbs 3.60 NZD. The driver accepts cash. Buses equipped with screens showing the route and stops. The bus route is surprisingly covering all interesting places in Auckland to see: city's center, Auckland Museum, Mount Eden, Museum of Transportation and other famous and interesting places to see.
I would suggest also take a trip on a Red double-decker, which adds you information about places to see later.

Alcohol drinks are allowed in Auckland's cinema. It was quite unusual went to auditorium with glass of wine or bottle of beer. After visiting a Hobbition, of course a 'Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey' movie was seen there 

Auckland's moving restaurant Orbit at the top of a Sky Tower gets a nice city views, unfortunately can't say the same about their meals.

Way to airport wasn't difficult as well, Donald have ordered a minibus (van) taxi for us, which bring us to airport pretty comfortably, and at very reasonable price.

I couldn't imagine when booked how this B&B is warm and amusing. It gave us a real pleasure while staying in this friendly city Auckland.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlexanderGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you for such a star studded review. We are genuine in that we so enjoy Sunderland House and feel privileged to be able to share our home with wonderful guests from all over the world yet insuring the importance of their privacy and comfort. To be rated so highly compared to other international establishments makes us very proud but humbled, we appreciate the positive feed back,
Kind regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

What a wonderful way to begin our holiday! We stayed for 3 nights and were totally entranced by this beautiful home which Kathy and Donald have been kind enough to allow their guests to enjoy. The personal welcome written at the front door on arrival made us feel like friends rather than strangers from the other side of the world. The elegant rooms had every comfort considered and provided, we wanted for nothing. And then there was the wonderful breakfast which included an exquisitely presented fruit platter and delicious homemade bread and muffins, all served outside on the patio. And that's not all - the guests' area on our floor was well stocked with a range of teas, coffee etc, more homemade cakes and biscuits, and even port and chocolates to enjoy at the end of the day!

Kathy and Donald were full of useful information on how to get about (we didn't have a car) and places to visit, they were always interested to hear what their guests had seen and done. Nothing was too much trouble.

Sunderland House is outstanding and we would recommend it most highly, you won't find anywhere better!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrieC324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Auckland is a great place to start in NZ and so often visitors will just allow one day sight seeing. It was a pleasure to have you stay the three days, getting to know you better and able to focus the start of your NZ adventures with a touch of elegance, kiwi hospitality and local knowledge. Thank you for taking the time to write a splendid review,
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed in the Green Room of the Sunderland house for 3 nights at the end of a 5 week trip to AU and NZ. Donald greeted us and we toured the wonderfully aesthetic and comfortable home. We had breakfast daily outside on the beautiful porch overlooking a fantastic garden. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast of homemade muffins, fruit, yogurt, toast and coffee, tea or cappuccino on a well appointed formal table scape. I am on a gluten free diet and Donald made me delicious GF muffins every morning. He also packed up a couple muffins to munch on as we toured the city and surrounding areas. Available to us was a mini kitchen on the floor of our room with homemade treats and port, chocolates, tea, coffee, and fresh chilled water. Our last morning we had to leave at 5:30AM to catch a flight back to the USA and we had muffins, fruit and yogurt waiting for us to eat prior to leaving. Donald offered us good recommendations on the northern islands and beaches as well as advice on transportation to the city by bus. We enjoyed the surrounding area close to Ponsonby for shopping and dining a short walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathduf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

We like to cater to everyones dietary needs and gluten free can be quite challenging and yet creative so it was a pleasure to come up to the mark for your 3 day stay. Thank you for the review and glad you appreciated those extra morsels and gems of local knowledge
Kindest Regards
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We started our 7 week NZ trip here and what a great start. Donald was a perfect host, our room was very comfortable and roomy and the breakfasts (served on the patio) were lovely and scrumptious. We were in the Green Room for three nights and loved it. Donald suggested a trip to a neighboring Island for a very unusual sculpture show and it was delightful. We would not have known about it and it became a real highlight of our stay in Auckland. The house is beautifully maintained - it looks like an older house but is, in fact, only 10 years old. We met Kathy's mother and she was a really funny and warm personality. All in all, it was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susu42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, it is always a pleasure to make our guests feel at home and relaxed. We try to keep informed with "Whats On' in Auckland especially in the arts and are always happy to depart this knowledge as quite often there are little gems to be had.
Thank you again
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Sunderland House is a fantastic base from which to explore Auckland. As a B&B it checks all the boxes you might expect (tidy rooms, comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, quiet street), but then does so much more as well. The house itself has a lot of character and is well finished throughout. We stayed in the Green Room and were very happy with the soaker tub (fits 2 comfortably). The house has free wifi, and lovely relaxing sitting areas in the small library / back garden / balcony - equally good for enjoying breakfast or a final nightcap. There are several nice little restaurants and a pub within a 5 minute walk. But if you want to get downtown, it is only a 2 minute walk to a well serviced bus-stop, which makes getting around a breeze. Tea and coffee, as well as jars of home-made cookies are freely available 24/7. And breakfast was outstanding - cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit platter, home-made bread, jam and muffins, great coffee - it'll set you up for hours.

But the best of it are your hosts, Kathy & Donald; they are incredibly warm and friendly, and excellent conversationalists. They allowed us to check in very early (7am - following a long-haul flight), and were already up to greet us. Throughout our stay they provided us with many excellent suggestions for things to see and do during our time in Auckland. We have no hesitation in recommending Sunderland House, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iva-and-James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

It was a pleasure having you stay and thank you for your review.
As we purpose built Sunderland House we new how important it was to have other areas for guests to enjoy and relax besides their well appointed rooms. It gives the opportunity to meet fellow travelers and share experiences and knowledge, as well as allowing us to get to know our guests better and maybe enjoy in a bottle of wine together.
We were thrilled with your comments and makes our efforts all the more worth while.
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
319 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 63 in Auckland Central
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
#5 of 63 in Auckland Central
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland House

Address: 1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: £103 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunderland House is located in an historic inner city area noted for its grand Victorian villas, award winning restaurants, charming beaches, fashionable shopping and trendy Ponsonby. Designed in the period of Herne Bay's villas, Sunderland House has been purposely built as a Boutique Bed & Breakfast, and cleverly combines Victorian style and charm with the luxury of contemporary facilities including free wireless internet. The three suites are sumptuous, light and peaceful and feature lofty cathedral ceilings, en-suite bathrooms, elegant antiques, a warm soothing colour palette, comfortable beds pressed crisp linen and includes complimentary port, delicious home baking, tea and coffee. We are dedicated to ensuring your stay with us is perfect by accommodating your every need whilst maintaining your privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunderland House Hotel Auckland Central
Sunderland House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing