We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Sunderland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunderland House
Ranked #8 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A three-room purposely build B&B just outside the central city area of Auckland is a great place to start a New Zealand holiday. The Green Room is spacious and clean, well presented incorporating a degree of ‘old world’ English character. The king-size bed was comfortable, with great pillows and blankets ensuring a good night sleep. The location off the main road provided a quiet locality but easy walking to local restaurants and bars. The bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was a delicious mix of fresh fruit, orange juice, cereal, with home-made muffins and bread and tea and coffee. Donald and Cathy are enthusiastic hosts and a willing source of information both locally and in the Auckland region. You feel that you are being welcomed into a good friend’s house rather than a commercial establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waddles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. As avid travelers ourselves cleanliness, comfort , a fresh breakfast and friendly hosts are imperative, so we are glad to be able to provide just that for our guests . Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
173
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great accommodation, beautiful house very comfortable, top continental breakfast with fresh fruit and homemade toasted bread. Donald and Kathy baked fresh muffins for breakfast each day. We stayed 1 day at the start and came back for a further 3 days at the end of our motorcycle tour to check out Auckland. Donald gave us great advice about getting around the city and visiting the top spots. Will definitely stay again. Port, chocolates, cake and biscuits and a lovely library with a fireplace and comfy chairs to read and unwind at the end of the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Having guests stay for a number of days makes for a better experience all round as we get to know one another and you get to enjoy all our different facilities out side of the suites. It was warming to see Leon sipping a port, reading and enjoying the fire in our lovely library. Thank you for staying and thank you for a superb review. We look forward to your return visit, Donald & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls., MN USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I spent 3 nights at Sunderland House...very tastefully furnished...immaculate bedroom and bathroom accommodations...followed in the morning by a wonderful continental breakfast served by Donald. I highly recommend this property...Donald and Cathy were kind, hospitable, very welcoming hosts!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SandraLee147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We strive to make every ones stay special and being avid travelers ourselves, we take pride in providing the best facilities possible for our guests. Thank you for making our efforts worth while by writing such a wonderful review and capturing in words who we are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Luxury feather pillows, complimentary port and chocolate, beautiful baking, fabulous library and quirky DVD collection, spot on restaurant recommendation, unobtrusive yet helpful host. Why stay in a chain hotel when you can have all of this for a similar price? Thank you Donald and Cathy

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaye s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review it was a pleasure having you stay. We believe the art of a great B & B is to make our presence felt with helpful service and advice but at the same time remain discreet - Great to know we were on the button.
Regards Donald & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
156 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We picked Sunderland House from the reviews in TripAdvisor. We were not in the least disappointed.

The location is good, in a quiet street in the pleasant suburb of Herne Bay and in walking reach of the excellent and varied eateries of Ponsonby.

The rooms and bathrooms are not huge but they have everything and are stylishly decorated. The bed gave us a very comfortable sleep. Breakfast set us up well for the day.

Best of all, the host Donald is convivial and attentive, helpful in every way (including suggesting good changes to our onwards itinerary) and totally professional in his role.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tosca08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We welcome Trip Advisor reviews and thank you so much for your kind words. Sorry we haven't responded earlier but we have had a well earned break and have been refurbishing some of our suites to keep up the high standard.
Kind Regards Donald & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Thank you Donald Cathy and Ben for your kindness and hospitality, I dont think you need me to tell you how wonderful you made my stay the reviews speak for themselves - five nights in your beautiful home and the generosity you showed me made this my home away from home - will always be my number one Auckland stop-over. XX

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for taking time out to write a review and sorry we haven't responded earlier. We have had a well earned break. B & B's are all about personalizing the experience for our guests and it was lovely having you stay for such an extended period,
Kind Regards Donald & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Our one night stay in Auckland could not have been better. Don gave us such a warm and enthusiastic welcome and was so helpful in suggesting where to go and what to do to make our short stay a memorable one. The house and rooms are beautifully decorated and full of personality. The shared kitchenette offers a delicious range of homemade goodies and breakfast is a real occasion. Very clean, comfortable and very friendly with beautiful attention to detail. A real charmer, thank you Don and Kathy (and Ben).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank classical_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We have been busy upgrading our facilities, hence I apologize for our late respondence, however every review is really appreciated and so far we have had a success of excellent's, so thank you again, Donald & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
302 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 58 in Auckland
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland House

Property: Sunderland House
Address: 1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunderland House is located in an historic inner city area noted for its grand Victorian villas, award winning restaurants, charming beaches, fashionable shopping and trendy Ponsonby. Designed in the period of Herne Bay's villas, Sunderland House has been purposely built as a Boutique Bed & Breakfast, and cleverly combines Victorian style and charm with the luxury of contemporary facilities including free wireless internet. The three suites are sumptuous, light and peaceful and feature lofty cathedral ceilings, en-suite bathrooms, elegant antiques, a warm soothing colour palette, comfortable beds pressed crisp linen and includes complimentary port, delicious home baking, tea and coffee. We are dedicated to ensuring your stay with us is perfect by accommodating your every need whilst maintaining your privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunderland House Hotel Auckland Central
Sunderland House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing