We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home away from home!”
Review of Sunderland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunderland House
Reviewed 5 December 2013

What a lovely home! Sunderland is in a wonderful neighborhood location that is just a quick walk to delicious restaurants and shopping. Donald and Dorothy are such lovely hosts! Not only was their home perfect and well appointed but they went out of their way to make us feel like family. They recommended a great walk, delicious dinner spot and even got up early to make sure we were fed before our early morning flight. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

The early morning breakfast sets our guests up before embarking on a long haul flight and we are more than happy to do just that. We also like to make a personal touch with our guests but at the same time respect their privacy and we are glad that we met your needs in all the respective areas. Thank you as we are very grateful for the terrific review and Kathy alias Dorothy was quite amused with your unintentional name change on your report,
Hopefully we will see you both again in the future,
Warm Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

What a great introduction to Auckland and staying in B&B's! Donald and Kathy are great hosts...very warm and friendly..we had great conversations ....the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed ...Donald's breakfasts are delicious and well presented...the location is ideal- 30 minute walk to the city or just hop on the outer link just a block away!
This was a great way to start my husband's 60th birthday celebration.
Donald..your popovers are supreme!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for introducing us to "Pop Overs", although we don't offer them everyday they have become a great savory alternative to our well received sweet muffins and ideal for diabetics as there isn't a grain of sugar in sight - The more I make, the higher they rise and the better they get. This suits our B & B breakfasts perfectly. Thank you also for the wonderful review and as you pointed out we are well sited to the city and it is such a lovely walk around the coastline. The outer or inner link bus service being a good standby if fellow guests are weary or the weather not all that conducive to outdoor pursuits. May the 60th birthday continue on with many memorable moments,
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Our stay with Kathy and Donald was absolutely fantastic. They really are the most welcoming of hosts. The house is really beautiful and easy to find and the room was wonderfully comfortable (just what you need after a 20+ hour flight) with views towards the city. The breakfasts are fantastic with gorgeous fresh fruit, freshly baked muffins every day and terrific flat whites (new to us as first time visitors to NZ). And they could not have been more helpful with advice about things to see and do in Auckland. And if you are staying for a few days you don't need to use the car as the bus goes from the top of the road. We really do recommend it. Thank you Kathy and Donald

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Comfort and friendliness is a priority especially after a long haul flight and thank you for reviewing our B & B with such high accolades. Such positive feed back is always appreciated as it shows we are right on the mark in an ever changing travelers world of technology but at the same time providing that personal touch,
Thank you again,
Kind regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

both the b&b and the hosts, Donald and Kathy, are charming and delightful. We stayed two nights and will definitely return whenever we are able to go back to Auckland. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, the baths spotless and fully equipped. The breakfast, served in a lovely dining room, was generous and varied, fresh homemade muffins, croissants, fruit, juice, yogurt, cappuccino are just a sample of the goodies they offer. Donald and Kathy sent us on our explorations with leftover muffins for a snack. Both have great advice on what to see in the time we had available, local restaurants, bus routes and tips about Auckland.

We arrived in Auckland at the end of a cruise and Donald and Kathy welcomed us early, right after our disembarkation so that we didn't have to wait until a normal check-in time. That courtesy meant we could go on our way for the day without worrying about being there at a certain time. Very much appreciated, as was the early breakfast on our day of departure.

A big thank you to both, we enjoyed meeting you and Ben, the dog!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

It was thrilling to read your review and thank you so much. Arrivals and departures can be tricky for the traveler and we are happy to simply make their plans easier with early check in and departure times even if it just means dropping luggage off and enjoying a complimentary espresso and muffin, it all leads to a great start to their day.
We trust that you will revisit these fine shores again,
Warm Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

What a shame that we only stayed here for the one night before our flights back to the UK. It deserves longer stays (although Donald and Kathy clearly have no problem with one nighters). The property is absolutely gorgeous; lots of comfort, fabulous beds, bathrooms and décor and a lovely kitchenette with home baked goodies and a variety of beverages. The outside eating area is stunning. Just around the corner are some great bars and restaurants and Donald is more than happy to share his recommendations. We would love to have stayed longer and will definitely be back. Thank you Donald and Kathy from the three of us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarebitwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for such a kind review and it would be great to have you come and stay longer next time. Owing to time restraints we know that most travelers prefer to spend only one night in Auckland and we welcome them openly to one of the top ten cities to live in the world, at the same time giving them the experience of our kiwi hospitality at its best, if that can extend to several days that is a 'plus' for everyone.
The outside breakfasting is always successful set in our tropical oasis and many fine moments are shared with much enthusiasm, glad you were able to participate. We look forward to your return one day,

Warm regards and gratitudes,
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Thank you (again and again) Donald and Kathy for all your help, support, conversation, wonderful breakfast, Ben, really nice place and neighbourhood,...this could be an almost endless list of little and not-that-little details, coming from nice people as you are.
Thanks to you, our visit to Auckland has been even more special and touching than expected.
Words are not enough to reflect all the cherished moments we will treasure in our hearts for ever.
Absolutely recommendable to everyone.
All the best and keep going like this-unbeatable!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

It was an absolute pleasure to be part of your honeymoon and leaving you with warm memories of Auckland, Sunderland House and what we have to offer. Your review was stupendous and thank you so much for such kind and wonderful words along with your company which we thoroughly enjoyed, sorry we never got to share in a glass of Sangria but maybe next time.
Kind regards
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I often find B&Bs can be very hit and miss - Sunderland house is definitely a hit. You are warmly welcomed to a wonderfully furnished house. Donald and Kathy are the perfect hosts and are attentive and friendly but never intrusive. Nice touches include home baked treats and port in the rooms. Breakfast is delicious with home baked muffins included. The location is ideal in a quiet and upmarket suburb; well serviced by public transport and in easy reach of the city. We would not hesitate at staying here again the next time we visit Auckland.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexHo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We always love it when we are regarded as a 'hit' and thank you for such a positive review. We love to bake, make our guests feel welcome and most of all enjoy the total business of operating and personalizing our Bed & Breakfast purpose built home. Thank you again and we trust we will see you again soon,
Warm Regards
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 65 in Auckland Central
325 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
699 reviews
2.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,228 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,878 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 62 in Auckland Central
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland House

Address: 1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: £103 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunderland House is located in an historic inner city area noted for its grand Victorian villas, award winning restaurants, charming beaches, fashionable shopping and trendy Ponsonby. Designed in the period of Herne Bay's villas, Sunderland House has been purposely built as a Boutique Bed & Breakfast, and cleverly combines Victorian style and charm with the luxury of contemporary facilities including free wireless internet. The three suites are sumptuous, light and peaceful and feature lofty cathedral ceilings, en-suite bathrooms, elegant antiques, a warm soothing colour palette, comfortable beds pressed crisp linen and includes complimentary port, delicious home baking, tea and coffee. We are dedicated to ensuring your stay with us is perfect by accommodating your every need whilst maintaining your privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunderland House Hotel Auckland Central
Sunderland House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing