We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in a Boutique B&B”
Review of Sunderland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunderland House
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed there the 3 last night of our 4 week road trip in New Zealand and I have to say we could not finish our trip in a better way ! The house is beautiful and decorated with lot of taste. The breakfast done by Donald is delicious - there is everything we need and much more. The house is very well located very close to city center, there is a bus stop close to the house and it only takes 10 minutes to get to Queen street. There are also a lot of very good restaurants nearby the house. Free wifi is also a available in the house. The room is big with a nice view over the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

We are fortunate with being served with an excellent bus service making distances quite minimal. We also find the 45 minute coastal walk to the centre is popular giving one the taste of Auckland's beautiful harbor and marinas, making the most of a 3 day visit. Thank you, your review is well appreciated and glad that your stay with us was regarded as excellent.
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights after a 41 day cruise in November and loved every time spent. The rooms are sumptuous and the beds are extremely comfortable. Everything is spotless and supplied that one would need. Our hosts were a delight, and the décor throughout the place fabulous. All in all I give it a 5 star, wish I could give more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Often we have guests that have either finished a cruise or about to embark on one and it is always a pleasure to be a highlight of their travels, their only disappointment being they wished they had stayed longer especially after a long voyage at sea. Great that we were able to provide all you needed to relax and enjoy. Thank you for such a concise positive review and taking the time to write it,
Kind regards
Donald & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous 1 night stay with Donald and Kathy in November for our last night in NZ after a three week tour of the country. It was by far one of the best experiences we had, and it felt like we were staying with old friends....we only wished we could have stayed longer. Not only was our room luxuriously comfortable and relaxing, but the attention to detail and warm welcome means we cannot recommend Sunderland House highly enough. As a vegan I am always anxious as to what to expect, but Donald seemed to embrace this, with freshly baked bread and muffins in addition to all the other scrummy items on the breakfast menu... And I was given some to take away which I thoroughly enjoyed en route back to the UK! I was also given a non feather pillow, an ethical choice that is never normally considered and only added to my good nights sleep. I am only sorry that I have taken so long to sing the praises of this B&B, which fully deserves to be No.1! We will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JkMowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

We strive to be number one on Trip Advisor and thank you for such a wonderful accolade. We have been awarded the Trip Advisor Travelers Choice Award (The 4th year running) and its thanks to all the excellent reviews that our guests have submitted.
We are always happy to accommodate guests dietary and personal conscience needs, it also enriches our lives.
Thank you again, a well appreciated review
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My fiance and I had a wonderful anniversary stay at Sunderland House in late November. We recommend Sunderland House wholeheartedly! Everything about our stay was top of the line, and Kathy and Donald - as friendly, interesting, and wonderful people - really made our stay special and unforgettable. We're so grateful to them for their warm hospitality and thoughtful advice to us, as we're just beginning our time and travels in NZ.

We enjoyed everything about our weekend in Auckland and especially at Sunderland. We felt welcome from the moment we stepped in the door. The freshly brewed espresso and homemade toasts, muffins, and preserves made our mornings particularly memorable, and made for a great start to our days! We were so happy with the comfort and style of the place and location. We also loved meeting Ben, the amiable springer-spaniel and house mascot.

Kathy and Donald treated us not only as guests, but as friends, and they are not only great hosts, but great people, that we're glad to know!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

That early morning flight (6am arrival) can be tricky for the traveler and we are always delighted to welcome guests with an early morning espresso and muffins, no matter what time it is. We trust your new beginnings in Wellington will be equally memorable and thank you for taking time out to write this review. May we see you back in Auckland some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We are seasoned B&B guests, and this one is outstanding. Well situated, very comfortable
and the breakfast is special. Also, Donald endeavored every morning to bake us a special
gluten-free meal. Despite his opinion, they were delicious. We spent four nights with the
Sunderlands and would give them our highest recommendation. We hope to visit again
soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

We love the challenge of meeting everyones dietary needs and it was wonderful to get such great feed back re: Our the Gluten Free Breakfasts. Thank you for such a positive review covering all aspects of our B & B, we aim to please on all fronts and glad we came up to expectation.
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We spent two lovely days & nights staying with Donald & Kathy & thoroughly enjoyed our stay & wished we could have stayed much longer, simply to enjoy their wonderful company & to enjoy all the comforts of their amazing B & B.
From the welcoming blackboard by the front door to the delicious breakfasts on the back patio served on beautiful fine bone china that simply made you want to sit & enjoy & forget about the rest of your day. The lovely breakfast setting & fine crockery & cutlery it was served on, not to mention the tasty food & coffee, had all the guests milling around so you got to meet some very interesting & exciting people. I also think because of this beautiful home no-one was grumpy or complaining & that made it even more enjoyable again.

We had the super king room @ the top of the stairs & this was extremely spacious, spotlessly clean, had amazing views & it was beautifully laid out right down to the gorgeous claw foot bath in the corner with all the necessities which we sadly decided not to enjoy as it was a tad hot in the room. The bathroom was extremely large and comfortable with everything you needed & again spotlessly clean.
There was plenty of wardrobe & storage space right down to a decent iron & ironing board & just outside our door were provisions for making tea & coffee served with delicious home-made munchies & again all served on beautiful fine bone china.

Donald and Kathy were a wealth of knowledge & could recommend many places to eat that were just a few minutes walk from their home.
As we were leaving late in the afternoon Donald was so accommodating & even though they were fully booked again they allowed us to stay as long as possible in our room & cleaned it last. You could also store your luggage if you needed. These are the little things that make stays priceless in places & are a much needed necessity when travelling, & knowing everything is safe is superb.

Donald & Kathy are truly lovely people, they have a beautiful home, they are interesting to talk to but are not in anyway intrusive & they are genuinely interested in all who stay. Sunderland House feels like a home away from home & we would not hesitate to stay there again & we would highly recommend this great B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for such an extensive and well thought out review, we appreciate the time you took to write so many detailed positives about Sunderland House. The Premier Suite is our pride of all our suites and glad you were able to appreciate all those extra details large or small. We would welcome you back even in winter when the Claw Foot bath is a "Must Do" luxury, whilst in summer the balcony and views is the winning feature.
Thank you again
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Our last night in New Zealand was spent at the Sunderland House in Aukland. Our hosts, Donald and Kathy were so inviting. As we approached the front door, we saw a small blackboard with a welcome written on it. How nice. Our room was spacious with a king bed and a lovely claw foot tub in one corner. The bathroom was large and comfortable. The small balcony had a view of the Auckland skyline. Since we got to Auckland late in the day, we were hungry and Donald and Kathy recommended an excellent Italian restaurant just a few minutes walk from their home. They steered us right. The food was delicious. Breakfast on the veranda the next morning was a beautiful experience. The weather was perfect and the bougainvilea were in bloom. We had a wonderful conversation and were allowed to keep our room until 3 since we had just a few hours to see anything of the city. The last good deed our hosts did for us was to give instructions to the airport that totally avoided driving in city traffic. The instructions were easy to follow and we had not trouble finding our way. Thank you Donald and Kathy for making our last day in Auckland so memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

With you traveling the length of NZ and staying in so many different B & B' and we were the last on your journeys it is so wonderful that you have ranked us as one of the best. We enjoy to be able to give beyond the call of duty and make the final nights in NZ special, to take with you fond memories. If we can make for an easier long journey home we will try to do so. Thank you for taking time out to write a review it just makes all our efforts worth while,
With much Aroha (Love) Donald & Kathy Sunderland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 65 in Auckland Central
325 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
699 reviews
2.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,878 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 62 in Auckland Central
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland House

Address: 1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: £103 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunderland House is located in an historic inner city area noted for its grand Victorian villas, award winning restaurants, charming beaches, fashionable shopping and trendy Ponsonby. Designed in the period of Herne Bay's villas, Sunderland House has been purposely built as a Boutique Bed & Breakfast, and cleverly combines Victorian style and charm with the luxury of contemporary facilities including free wireless internet. The three suites are sumptuous, light and peaceful and feature lofty cathedral ceilings, en-suite bathrooms, elegant antiques, a warm soothing colour palette, comfortable beds pressed crisp linen and includes complimentary port, delicious home baking, tea and coffee. We are dedicated to ensuring your stay with us is perfect by accommodating your every need whilst maintaining your privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunderland House Hotel Auckland Central
Sunderland House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing