We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunderland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunderland House
Ranked #8 of 54 Auckland B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Sunderland house was our final stop after 3 weeks of traveling through Australia and New Zealand. After staying at many different places throughout our travels, I have to say this place was one of our favorites. Their attention to detail was impeccable. The entire house was so beautiful. I pretty much want our place to look exactly like Sunderland House.

We stayed in the Green Room. It was spacious and charming. The bathroom was beautiful with a spa tub. They even have full size products in the bathroom, no more fiddling with tiny little soaps and tiny little shampoos.

Breakfast was also fantastic with seasonal fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh baked bread and the most delicious muffins I have ever had. Yep, I ate 3 of them too.

I also really loved the location of Sunderland house. Herne Bay is such a nice quiet neighborhood. Sunderland House is also a 5 minute walk from Herne Bays wonderful boutiques and neighborhood restaurants and about a 15 minute walk to Ponsonby which is another fun place to hang out with lots of shopping, restaurants, art galleries and cafes. From Ponsonby you can easily take a bus downtown.

Donald and Kathy were also amazing hosts, fun to chat with and super thoughtful. Who else would have thought to pack up some extra muffins for my plane ride back home. I highly recommend this place !!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
We like to be as eco friendly as possible and having quality bathroom products in dispensers does away with all that unnecessary packaging and waste. So thank you for vindicating our ideas and writing a great review. We also compost and grow many of our own vegetables and fruit mainly suited to our daily bake of muffins. As locals we use the bus system all the time as from Sunderland House it is more efficient and convenient than taking a car, so thank you for pointing that out to potential guests. Glad you loved your stay with us, we enjoyed your company as well,
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
173
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I traveled in New Zealand last December and Auckland was our first destination. We were completely amazed by the Sunderland House. The location is fantastic, and Donald and Kathy were wonderful hosts. We were supposed to stay only 2 nights but we ended up staying for a total of 4 nights…we just couldn't leave! The room was incredibly comfortable and my wife really enjoyed the bathtub! Breakfast was always fresh and delicious, and we received a special breakfast on Christmas day, which was a very nice surprise.
The B&B is located in Herne Bay, which is a good 45-minute walk from the city center, but there's a good public transportation system, so no big deal. We strongly recommend this place if staying in Auckland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcodalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
It was a plus for all of us that you stayed the two extra nights especially as your last breakfast was Christmas morning, we can't help our selves but make that extra special. We feel blest that our bus stop is just 5 metres away and served with perhaps the best bus service Auckland has to offer. It is easy and all user friendly. Thank you for staying with us and writing such a great review.
Kind regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okanagan, BC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Sunderland House is a warm and friendly place where it is easy to feel relaxed and right at home. Donald and Kathy were gracious hosts and gave us very helpful advice on ways to see the sights in Auckland.

We stayed in the Green Room. It was very clean and bright with a comfortable bed. It was beautifully decorated. The ensuite included a spa tub with shower. Outside the door was a tea and coffee station which also featured home baked goodies. The guest lounge was available at any time. The whole house was immaculate.

Since the weather was fine, breakfast was served on the covered deck just outside the kitchen. It was especially lovely to start the day in the open air with some of Donald's fresh muffins. We highly recommend a stay at Sunderland House when visiting Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
An excellent rated review coming from a 'Senior Trip Advisor Contributor' is a terrific accolade and thank you so much for taking the time to write all about us from decor to hosting, informing future travelers the standard we have to offer and the amenities available. We trust you will return to us another time and maybe experience our Premier Suite,
Happy Journeys through out New Zealand
Donald & Kathy Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We arrived in Auckland from the UK on a warm and sunny summer afternoon. Donald and Kathy's warm welcome made the long and arduous flight worth every gruelling minute, and the beautiful balcony room made us feel extremely special. All the reviews here highlight all that Sunderland House has to offer - the relaxed atmosphere made our stay feel like a home from home...if only our home was as sophisticated and well presented! I can thoroughly recommend a relaxing swing on the hammock and watch out when you are offered one of Kathy's delicious muffins because you'll find that Ben isn't too far away! If you are planning a visit to Auckland, do not miss the opportunity to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jinkyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you, this is such a great review as it highlights the importance of creating a relaxed environment but at the same time having somewhere special to stay. Ben our old Springer Spaniel also contributes to making the place relaxed by simply mooching and sleeping about, slowing all our worlds down into a more leisure-able pace. Thank you again and also for taking the time out to write these wonderful comments, its time to make more muffins
Donald & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were sorry we could only stay one night at this beautiful B & B. Donald and Kathy are warm, welcoming and have had interesting past careers, and made us feel right at home immediately. We had the luxurious premier suite, which was perfectly appointed in every way and spotless, sumptuously decorated. Nice touch to have a bedside table with port and chocolates. And we availed ourselves of the baked goods and tea conveniently located on the landing. Donald made a gourmet breakfast, and we particularly loved dining outdoors in the garden. Location is close to downtown but also to Ponsonby. My husband was not feeling well before our flight home, and Donald and Kathy were so kind to let him nap in their lounge while we waited for our taxi to the airport. He turned out to have appendicitis! So thanks, Donald and Kathy for letting us rest at your B & B! We couldn't recommend this place more highly!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaylance67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Appendicitis, no wonder Lance was feeling so ill and what a dreadful time to take a long haul flight. It was our pleasure to let you both rest in our lounge/library and thank goodness for comfy lounge chairs and ottomans along with the quiet of the room and neighborhood. Glad to know recovery mode is over with. We appreciated your review, taking time to write such fine comments, we often feel we have our guests well being in our hands and we were of help.
Kind regards
Donald & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the Sunderland House at the start of our journey across New Zealand. Donald, Kathy and their English Springer Spaniel Ben are fantastic hosts that welcome you into their home and make you feel like family. The rooms are spotless and the breakfasts are scrumptious, especially Kathy's muffins. The sunny outside patio was also a very nice place to enjoy the mornings. I highly recommend a stay at the Sunderland House when you are in Auckland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ethorv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
It is always wonderful to get such great reviews and in fact quite humbling. We work hard to make every guests stay special, however it is effortless as we so enjoy the pleasure of everyones company and to please. Summer having our breakfast of fresh fruit platters, home baked bread & muffins plus endless espressos out on the patio always makes for a relaxing and memorable start or end to ones trip to New Zealand. Thank you so much for taking the time to write and hopefully we may see you again back in our fine city,
Kind regards
Donald & Kathy Sunderland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We're regular visitors to Auckland but generally tend to stay near the airport or in the Hilton in the center of the city, for business reasons. However this trip was a leisure trip, planned around our wedding anniversary, so we were looking for somewhere a little more personal to stay. Sunderland House certainly fulfilled our expectations and gave us a great experience.
Firstly, the B&B is in an excellent location, a few minutes walk from restaurants and the water and only 5-10 minutes drive from the CBD. And you can avoid the tedious trek across the bridge from the North Shore (awful in peak hour).
Secondly, Donald and Kathy have established a beautiful B&B in a purpose built home. Quiet, very comfortable (even in the smallest of the three rooms) with personal care and attention. Donald gave us great restaurant tips & told us about a shortcut to our regular favourite (Empress Garden, for excellent Peking Duck).
Kathy kindly passed on her breakfast muffin recipe and gave us a couple to take with us on a day when we had a long drive.
And, should you be a closet Nevil Shute fan ( a British / Australian author from the 1950's) Kathy is an expert, with a excellent collection of early editions.
All in all we had an pleasurable experience, and will certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltimeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandHouse, Owner at Sunderland House, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
A wedding anniversary is always special and we were delighted to make your stay memorable. We take pleasure in giving that personal touch, creating a place that is set apart from the norm both in interior design and hospitality. Thank you for such a fine review and keep enjoying those anniversaries where ever you may be in the world, may be at "A town like Alice" (Neville Shute)
Kind Regards
Donald & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
#5 of 54 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 54 in Auckland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland House

Property: Sunderland House
Address: 1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunderland House is located in an historic inner city area noted for its grand Victorian villas, award winning restaurants, charming beaches, fashionable shopping and trendy Ponsonby. Designed in the period of Herne Bay's villas, Sunderland House has been purposely built as a Boutique Bed & Breakfast, and cleverly combines Victorian style and charm with the luxury of contemporary facilities including free wireless internet. The three suites are sumptuous, light and peaceful and feature lofty cathedral ceilings, en-suite bathrooms, elegant antiques, a warm soothing colour palette, comfortable beds pressed crisp linen and includes complimentary port, delicious home baking, tea and coffee. We are dedicated to ensuring your stay with us is perfect by accommodating your every need whilst maintaining your privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunderland House Hotel Auckland Central
Sunderland House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing