We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big 'Thank you' from Gloria, Frank and Rich...”
Review of Sunderland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunderland House
Ranked #8 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Auckland, Central
2 reviews
“A big 'Thank you' from Gloria, Frank and Rich...”
Reviewed 6 February 2011

I first met Donald and Katy in early 2010, knowing my parents were going to stay with me for 3 weeks it was important i found somewhere special for their final week here in Auckland. There was never any doubt that i had found the perfect place in Sunderland House with Donald and Kathy. Ultimately all my expectations were surpassed and more importantly Mum and Dad were super relaxed, happy and rested for the long journey back to the UK. I can't thank you enough... Rich

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
173
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Well, we wrapped up our honeymoon trip in Auckland at Sunderland House. And truth is we had a short but very lovely stay down there. We have been warmly welcomed by Donald and Kathy (oh I almost forgot Ben !) and stayed in the pink room which was absolutely magnificent. Not only because of its beauty but also because the view we had on Auckland was so neat ! We had a very nice breakfast in the garden, and these fresh fruits were so delicious. A honorable mention has to be given to Kathy's muffins (amazing) and to Ben, who would chase the mosquitos while we were enjoying the fresh coffee and hot toasts !
The only regret is that one night is not enough. We definitely clicked with Donald and Kathy and I think we all would have been delighted to enjoy one more night together. As bottom line I can only recommend to have a stay at Sunderland House, a lovely place owned by lovely hosts.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColonelDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoek van Holland, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Sunderland House for two nights last december. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. The house itself is wonderful. It feels like coming home as soon as we passed the front door. The rooms were very tidy and clean and all the details in the house were in harmony. We enjoyed the wonderfull bed and bath! The breakfast looked great and it tasted even better (homemade cerials) as did the cookies (homemade as well) and the chocolat. Next to all this we couldn't have wished for better hosts. It was a real pleasure to stay at the Sunderland House. We will be back in Auckland and we most certainly will be back in the Sunderland House. Thanks so much, Donald and Kate!

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YVED63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

The Sunderland House was and is a welcoming place to stay for a night or more in Auckland. The house and room were well appointed, charming and very comfortable. Every detail is artistically taken care of right down to the tasty ginger bars that Donald makes for his guests. The house is in a beautiful area of Auckland with nice restaurants and bars within walking distance. My girlfriend and I were lucky enough to share wine, food and interesting conversation with the Sunderland's at the local bar called the Elbow room. Breakfast is a time to look forward to as Donald again see's to every detail and prepares a very nice spread with something for every taste. If Auckland is your destination we would highly recommend the Sunderland House.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somewherefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

The Sunderland House is truly a cut above other bed and breakfasts. It would be so based solely on its small touches, such as decanters of port in the rooms and library, but the main reason is the owners, Don and Kathy (and, of course, Ben, their very friendly Springer Spaniel) . They are both extremely personable and knowledgable, and they went out of their way to make us feel welcome in their home. The house itself is very nice, with a porch in front and deck and garden in back, and a cozy library. The room was both beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, featuring Kathy's fresh baked muffins (with rubarb fresh from the garden) and, on request, Don's "wicked" hot chocolate. This is definitely the best bed and breakfast I have ever visited.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nandy, FRANCE
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2010

This was our first day and stop in Auckland. 6 days after we were to the same place.
What can we say about the Sunderland House? Nothing except that it was the most beautiful place in Auckland where you can stay, have a rest, taste very good restaurants near the B&B, and also, for our first contact with local people, the nicest person I had ever met. Our host is the nicest person I had ever met and he will do the best for his guests, wherever they came from.
Again, thanks Donald for everything you did for us.

Gia and Fabienne, in honeymoon

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gia-Fabienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockach, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Donald is a perfect host. You HAVE TO try all his self-made cookies!
We really recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanjaBaumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
305 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,199 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 58 in Auckland
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland House

Property: Sunderland House
Address: 1A Cox Street | Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunderland House is located in an historic inner city area noted for its grand Victorian villas, award winning restaurants, charming beaches, fashionable shopping and trendy Ponsonby. Designed in the period of Herne Bay's villas, Sunderland House has been purposely built as a Boutique Bed & Breakfast, and cleverly combines Victorian style and charm with the luxury of contemporary facilities including free wireless internet. The three suites are sumptuous, light and peaceful and feature lofty cathedral ceilings, en-suite bathrooms, elegant antiques, a warm soothing colour palette, comfortable beds pressed crisp linen and includes complimentary port, delicious home baking, tea and coffee. We are dedicated to ensuring your stay with us is perfect by accommodating your every need whilst maintaining your privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunderland House Hotel Auckland Central
Sunderland House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing