We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$252
US$214
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Quest Parnell(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$167
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
VR Auckland City(Auckland Central)
US$136
US$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
VR Queen Street(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$81
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$119
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Heritage Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$229
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$55
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
49
94
56
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
94
56
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbangers and mashalbert streetnew zealandthird floorfantastic locationdowntown aucklandbit datedbed was comfortablequeen stpilsnerconcert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel has a good location, but not much more. It has 10 rooms above a restaurant and bar. The room had a fridge and kettle but only coffee for one night and no maid service the second day. The room was very stuffy and the fan did not work. Aside from general uncleanliness, the shower drain did not drain and a sewer smell came up out of the floor drain. It is not clear how we would have gotten out to the fire escape if necessary and it looked badly rusted. We really wanted to like this hotel but were instead uncomfortable here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Good price, good location, light room. Staff are 20 something crew of various nationalities, so they are laid back casual types. Remember its a pub, you are staying above the dinning/ function room that closes after 10 and there is no lift and the stairs are steep and high. The room for three was comfortable & clean as was the bathroom, it was still an old hotel. There was iron on the landing and a kettle so I was fine.

Room Tip: Get the corner room it has 3 big old Victorian era windows and dont plan on sleeping before 1030 if there is a function on.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kabwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We only stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our seven night stay in Auckland. The hotel itself is nice and has all you'll need. Keep in mind that it is a pub that you are staying in. Very cozy. All of the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming- a rare find in a city lacking quality hospitality staff. Only had one meal here, but it was enormous and delicious! Would stay here or pop back in for a drink anytime in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here our last night in Auckland after a 2 week Kiwi adventure before flying home to Canada. Great little place. Friendly staff. Quaint pub.

Be prepared to lug a suitcase up several flights of stairs though as there is no elevator.

Very old building, but has some ridiculous character and some characters running it too, super nice! Was wonderful to have a long hot shower and sleep in a real bed after a 2 week camper-van excursion.

Staff was helpful immediately and we were able to keep our bags behind the bar on the last day after check out while we trolled around the city.

Microbrew beer is great too!!

Thank you!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank FayLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We did not stay here, only dined here for dinner, so this review is for the meal. Their 500 gram Angus Rump for $15 was cooked to perfection, so no complaint here. The rest of the menu looked good too. Service was extremely friendly and efficient. The Hotel has a lot of charm too. A great find for a solid meal when hungry. Sometimes you can't beat pub food!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews