We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, cheap room in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good, cheap room in good location”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at the Shakespeare. The location is excellent. The rooms are tired but clean. The building is quirky. The pub offers good food and beer brewed on site. Excellent value in a quite expensive city.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahsOffAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    84
    47
    23
    14
See reviews for
17
108
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

on Friday 10/01/2014 a friend married her prince. reception was at Crown Plaza Hotel, Albert St. After the reception a group of 15 including bride & groom walked to the shakespeare to enjoy a night recap of the days event. Most of us flew from Australia so was not familiar with our surroundings. The bar-man immediately decided to quote his rights and refuse us drinks if 1 member was intoxicated. we were a group over 40yrs. We are parents, responsible adults looking to enjoy one of NZ oldest pubs? we had 1 drink and not soon after requesting another drink. The bar-man decided to close the pub????

To the Shakespeare owners, the bar-man was in no way in threat of his life. it comes to inexperience of reading a crowd. We were in high spirits and without asking where or what the occasion was, he immediately judged us accordingly to no's. because of that incident, our night was ruined by his sour face and rude effort to communicate. we heard his rights 2 times, by then we left wishing the lady from Wednesday night 08/01/2014 who was welcoming worked that night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
450 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We had lunch here while in Auckland. There was a good choice of boutique beer. I had a cider that was light & tasty. We shared a 500g plate of ribs - plenty for 2 hungry people. Check the weather before you decide to sit outside on the balcony. We started out there then moved inside out of the sun - very little shelter. Inside was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel has a good location, but not much more. It has 10 rooms above a restaurant and bar. The room had a fridge and kettle but only coffee for one night and no maid service the second day. The room was very stuffy and the fan did not work. Aside from general uncleanliness, the shower drain did not drain and a sewer smell came up out of the floor drain. It is not clear how we would have gotten out to the fire escape if necessary and it looked badly rusted. We really wanted to like this hotel but were instead uncomfortable here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Good price, good location, light room. Staff are 20 something crew of various nationalities, so they are laid back casual types. Remember its a pub, you are staying above the dinning/ function room that closes after 10 and there is no lift and the stairs are steep and high. The room for three was comfortable & clean as was the bathroom, it was still an old hotel. There was iron on the landing and a kettle so I was fine.

Room Tip: Get the corner room it has 3 big old Victorian era windows and dont plan on sleeping before 1030 if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We only stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our seven night stay in Auckland. The hotel itself is nice and has all you'll need. Keep in mind that it is a pub that you are staying in. Very cozy. All of the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming- a rare find in a city lacking quality hospitality staff. Only had one meal here, but it was enormous and delicious! Would stay here or pop back in for a drink anytime in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, AB
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here our last night in Auckland after a 2 week Kiwi adventure before flying home to Canada. Great little place. Friendly staff. Quaint pub.

Be prepared to lug a suitcase up several flights of stairs though as there is no elevator.

Very old building, but has some ridiculous character and some characters running it too, super nice! Was wonderful to have a long hot shower and sleep in a real bed after a 2 week camper-van excursion.

Staff was helpful immediately and we were able to keep our bags behind the bar on the last day after check out while we trolled around the city.

Microbrew beer is great too!!

Thank you!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank FayLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland
321 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel

Property: Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Address: 61 Albert Street | Corner of Wyndam & Albert Streets, Auckland 1062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1898 was the birth of the Shakespeare Hotel and ever since then it has been serving New Zealanders and travelers from around the globe with warm hospitality and wonderful flavours in food being New Zealand's first Brewpub, with our own crafted beer, handcrafted from one of New Zealand's award winning Brewers and a mix of local NZ beers. The Location of the Hotel is excellent bang in the middle of Auckland City so close to all transport with buses, ferrys etc within a few hundred meters. The accommodation consists of 10 rooms which are basic with an en-suite and the beds are comfortable. This is not your typical boring hotel. The Shakespeare oozes character and if you are afraid of walking up a few stairs then probably not the place to stay. Each room is different and the rooms on the top floor are more modern than the lower floor. The Terrace Restaurant offers a great mix of cuisine, live music out on the al fresco dining deck overlooking the city every Friday. We are not 5 star in terms of accommodation but we are definitely 5 stars in a good quality Kiwi experience...we look forward to having you as our guests.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Tavern And Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern Hotel Auckland Central
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing