We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Bay of Plenty
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Recently spent two nights here at the very top of the building. We knew there was no elevator and it was a bit of a mission for us seniors, I counted 73 steps from the pavement to the room. The room was spacious enough but very small bathroom. No views from the windows except tall buildings but I did love the skylight above the bed. Watching the night sky was quite nice. There was a window that opened up and you could stand on a chair and get out on the roof for better views. We had the Wednesday night 500g steak in the restaurant, very nice with lovely salad and fries. Just a stroll down the hill to the harbour and Downtown Auckland. The staff were very friendly also.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparky236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    82
    47
    23
    13
See reviews for
16
107
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
229 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Had a rump steak special on Wednesday night with FF's and a salad for $15.00. All very good. Very nice staff and a wonderful old looking hotel that you can stay in too. Think it was built around 1890 or so. Had a lovely dinner here and worth eating at or possibly staying in as well. Right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby31225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My brother and I started our NZ trip with an overnight in Auckland at the Shakespeare. We were exhausted from a very long flight from D.C. and were hoping that they would allow for a much earlier check in -- which they did! The room was also excellent and clean and had a little window we could climb out of to get on the roof. The next day, when we had to leave for Rotorua, they let us leave our luggage with them behind the bar while we explored the city before our bus left. On top of this, the beer and the food are excellent and affordable, and the hotel is located in the perfect spot (with the main streets/sites for the city a block or so away only, if that). Highly, highly recommend this place and wish we could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night and it was just right. Clean, central, great value for money, nice beer and quiet! Even enjoyed watching the football on the huge tv despite knowing already my team had lost the game. I had a very nice meal too in the bar/ restaurant upstairs.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Marrowontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights in the Shakespeare Brewery hotel in Auckland. We booked the triple room and were pleased to have the extra room. Amenities were average but clean. Though the room was not serviced the manager was up straight away to change a burnt out light bulb and made us very welcome. We drank in the bar where the beer was quite acceptable and the staff friendly and helpful, we also ate in the restaurant on the balcony and had two excellent meals. Though we could hear the restaurant and live music from the bar these noises stopped at 10 and didn't affect us. The window curtains were heavy enough to keep the street lighting out. With its central location and friendly staff this was an enjoyable stay. If you have a car, park in the Atrium car park down the road (in sight) for $32 for 24 hours (this is locked at night and so secure)

Room Tip: The triple room on the corner is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coyote88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel looks great, it's location is also very good just a few minutes walk to the seafront, boat rides, a few bars and I-site. The room was on the small side, the double bed was a rather narrow but reasonably comfortable. The shower was adequate though the shower's drain was blocked so water overflowed out of the shower cubicle and the cold water sink tap tripped pretty badly. The staff were friendly enough but not more than that and when we mentioned to them about the problems with the shower they didn't really seem to take much notice.
But on the up side the bar is great and so is the beer brewed there, but be prepared to pay 8AUD a pint!
We were told that there's no elevator so we knew that we would have to carry our luggage upstairs ourselves, but it was a bit of a struggle carrying it to the third floor!
What we weren't told though was that the bar is open until 4am on Saturdays and it's a very popular venue for revelers! Needless to say that we got very little sleep Saturday night with a lot of noise coming from the street below. The second night (Sunday) was much quieter so we did manage to get some sleep. .

Room Tip: If they have one then ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J0sephine59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Without being to hard on this hotel, I'd say if you wanna good night sleep, book somewhere else. Basic room, horrible room cleaning, lots of noise from street below, no a/c or fan, impossible wifi connection.

But do stop in cause they brew a damn good beer and make a mean burger! Friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenThere01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
1.2 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel

Property: Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Address: 61 Albert Street | Corner of Wyndam & Albert Streets, Auckland 1062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1898 was the birth of the Shakespeare Hotel and ever since then it has been serving New Zealanders and travelers from around the globe with warm hospitality and wonderful flavours in food being New Zealand's first Brewpub, with our own crafted beer, handcrafted from one of New Zealand's award winning Brewers and a mix of local NZ beers. The Location of the Hotel is excellent bang in the middle of Auckland City so close to all transport with buses, ferrys etc within a few hundred meters. The accommodation consists of 10 rooms which are basic with an en-suite and the beds are comfortable. This is not your typical boring hotel. The Shakespeare oozes character and if you are afraid of walking up a few stairs then probably not the place to stay. Each room is different and the rooms on the top floor are more modern than the lower floor. The Terrace Restaurant offers a great mix of cuisine, live music out on the al fresco dining deck overlooking the city every Friday. We are not 5 star in terms of accommodation but we are definitely 5 stars in a good quality Kiwi experience...we look forward to having you as our guests.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Tavern And Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern Hotel Auckland Central
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing