We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$76
View deal
Booking.com
US$76
View deal
Agoda.com
US$57
View deal
Hotels.comUS$76
PricelineUS$74
eDreamsUS$76
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
60
109
64
34
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
109
64
34
25
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2019 via mobile

I stayed here on Friday for 1 night. When I got in the lobby, I was a bit confused where is the reception. Apparently, the bartender is the hotel receptionist.
In the initial booking, I asked for a quite room as I read the review there is a bar on the ground floor so it will be noisy but I've never thought that the bar is also the reception.
They gave me a room on the third floor (no elevator) but the staff helped me to carry my luggage with 20 kg weight. Wow he's a super strong man!
The room is clean and the bathroom as well, it's quite small but it's still okay for 1 person. A lot of mosquitos as the window was openned when I got in. There's a window on the roof and it was openned all the time, probably for the air circulation.
After my first experience, I think I would find another hotel to stay for my next trip.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank RaniYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareNZ, Owner at The Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2019

Dear valued guest.

Thank you for staying with us and experiencing the living history at the iconic Shakespeare Hotel with 120 years history and character. We appreciated your feedback

We take guest feedback very seriously and noted the concerns. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel and changing your experience.

Warm regards,

The Shakespeare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

Two senior ladies and no lift - had to be out the door at 7.30am and one fell down six of the carpeted stairs. Chipped bone in ankle, lots of bruises. Lucky not worse. Nobody there to help. Oh well - the restaurant was very good for dinner the night before.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank ScorpioNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareNZ, Owner at The Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2019

Dear valued guest.

Thank you for staying with us and the feedback. We are sorry to hear on the accident, unfortunately being it the classified heritage building there is no elevator. We are glad that you enjoyed a great dining at our historic restaurant upstairs with unique ambiance and character.

Warm regards,

The Shakespeare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2019

We stayed here for a week and would choose The Shakespeare again. As everyone has noted: no lift (we were on the 4th floor), no a/c (weather was 31-33 while we were there). So why the high rating? The Shakespeare is perfectly located just steps from everywhere you want to go (7 mins to the harbor, Sky City, Queen Street, etc), it's a massive bargain and it's CLEAN (pro tip: room 9 has a good bathroom, room for your bags, and a cool round window that opens). Note: construction on the new underground rail will continue thru 2020, so there is construction noise every day but Sunday, but it didn't bother us as we're from the city. Loved having the bar as our makeshift living room when we got back from our daily adventures. Dave the mgr was always ready with a smile and a good story. Benjamin got us a fan for our window and carried my bag upstairs. Cheers guys!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SallyAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareNZ, Owner at The Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2019

Dear valued guest.

Thank you for staying with us and experiencing a living history at the iconic Shakespeare Hotel with 120 years of history and character. We appreciated your feedback. We are glad the central location in the heart of Auckland CBD, and our team delighted you.

We take guest feedback very seriously and noted the concerns. Unfortunately, being it a classified heritage building built in 1898, there is no elevator. The beautiful stairs leading to the restaurant and the rooms have been a great attraction over the decades.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel and changing your experience.

Warm regards,

The Shakespeare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2019 via mobile

Hotel with its own brewery. Residents get 20% discount on food and drinks. Only negative is the number of stairs to some of the rooms. Staff were very helpful. Excellent situation for exploring Auckland. Harbour is just 5 minute walk with vast array of restaurants.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareNZ, Owner at The Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2019

Dear valued guest.

Thank you for staying with us and experiencing a living history at the iconic Shakespeare Hotel with 120 years of history and character. We appreciated your feedback. We are glad the central location in the heart of Auckland CBD, and our team delighted you.

Unfortunately, being it a classified heritage building built in 1898, there is no elevator. The beautiful stairs leading to the restaurant and the rooms have been a great attraction over the decades.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Warm regards,

The Shakespeare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2019

We read the reviews on the Shakespeare,although they were mixed I wanted to see for myself,things didn’t get off to the best start,we arrived just after one in the morning and the place was in darkness,my wife had emailed a couple of days earlier and informed them of our late arrival and they said no problem,we rang the bell and a confused manager appeared unaware of our arrival and had only stayed late to do some paperwork,he soon found our booking and settled us in,but we’ve no idea what would have been the outcome if he wasn’t there
Our room was on the top floor(attic) and being an old building there’s no lift but lots of stairs! The room was old but clean,and a separate bathroom again clean but no plug in the hand basin but one was provided later,it seems to be a common thing that no plugs are fitted in the sink
After a good,if hot,nights sleep we met the staff and had a good look round,you must appreciate this place is old so fixtures and fittings aren’t cutting edge,but the location is perfect for exploring Auckland city and harbour,and as a resident in the Shakespeare you get 20% discount on food and drink in the bar,the meals were very good as were the craft beers
When you first see the building and rooms you might feel you’ve made a mistake but for a night or two its perfectly acceptable and we would use it again

Room tip: All looked much the same,with no real views,but take your own hand basin plug!
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareNZ, Owner at The Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2019

Dear valued guest.

Thank you for staying with us and experiencing a living history at the iconic Shakespeare Hotel with 120 years of history and character. We appreciated your feedback. We are glad the central location in the heart of Auckland CBD, and our team delighted you.

Unfortunately, being it a classified heritage building built in 1898, there is no elevator. The beautiful stairs leading to the restaurant and the rooms have been a great attraction over the decades.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Warm regards,

The Shakespeare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews