We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Place”
Review of Big Blue House

Big Blue House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Blue House
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We stayed at the Big Blue House for 2 nights with our young son, fresh off the plane from the UK (i.e. exhausted!). We let ourselves in easily, as per their instructions, and made ourselves at home in our lovely, huge, sunny room. We had a great few days there and couldn't recommend it enough - it's brilliant run by happy, friendly folk who can't do enough for you. Our room was huge and had everything we could need and more. The location was ideal for a walk to the lovely Auckland Zoo (an ideal morning or even day for a nearly-two year old), and for getting buses everywhere else (including a bus driver who helpfully stopped directly opposite the Big Blue House to let us out).

I always look forward to breakfast and it didn't let us down - fresh bread, fruit, and cereals in abundance, and we enjoyed chatting with the other people staying there.

We'd definitely recommend it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2010

I stayed my last two nights in NZ at the Big Blue House and it was a good choice. It's about a ten minute walk to Grey Lynn which has restaurants, bars, post shops and grocery stores as well as being on the bus route in to town. The owners, Kate and Lynne, were gently friendly without being intrusive and they made you feel welcome in to their home. You can help yourself to tea (including all kinds of herbals), coffee, juice and nibbles anytime you want. There's a big communal lounge you can use if you want but the rooms have TVs if you want your privacy. There's a pool and jacuzzi in the back yard and the house itself has a gentle gracefulness to the Big Blue House that is lovely. I stayed in the single room at the back which is little but charming with a big shower room next door (NZ$80 per night). I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle31_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

Our family stayed at the Big Blue House for 3 nights - our hosts were very welcoming and the large room we stayed in has excellent views over the bay. Breakfast was lovely and we were made to feel really at home.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BarryRNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

I stayed in 2 rooms in the big Blue House. First I was in the single room on the ground floor. It is a very small room but clean and includes a TV, desk and sink. There is shared bathroom which is right next door. I also got to enjoy a large double upstairs upon my return to Auckland since the single was booked and I was charged the single rate. The upstairs rooms also share a bathroom but the room was HUGE. There was satellite TV, many windows. Simply gorgeous. A couple things to note about the accomodation. There are dogs. I found the single room to smell a little of dog because i think it was close to the back door where the dogs like to hang out. Not gross or dirty or anything just the general smell of dogs so those with allergies or a dislike of dogs be warned. There are also cats. You could help yourself to tea in the kitchen at all hours and breakfast was delicious. The couple who run the house Lynne and Kate were great. I enjoyed talking with them and they are very gracious hosts. I met other guests who regularly stay at the Big Blue House when they are in Auckland. It's location is in a suburban setting and it was easy enough to catch the bus into downtow Auckland. I would say maybe it was a 15 minute bus ride at most. But there was a little shopping district a short 5 minute walk away where I could pick up some groceries at the organic grocer or get some nibbles at the local bakery etc.. The buses didn't run that often so planning ahead especially at night was key. You could also do your laundry there. I wish I had known ahead of time beacuse I spent a fortune doing it right before I arrived in Auckland. Oh well. The nicest thing about staying here was feeling like a local. Its really like sharing someone's home.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TallulahB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
2.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 62 in Auckland Central
117 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
2.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,567 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue House

Address: 103 Garnet Road | Westmere, Auckland Central, Auckland 1022, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kate and Lynne warmly invite you to make yourself at home during your New Zealand travel, in our spacious and comfortable Auckland bed and breakfast. 10 minutes from Auckland central city, Ponsonby Rd, Parnell and close to other attractions. At The Big Blue House we provide a welcoming & safe haven for travellers. We are women friendly, family, and children friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Blue House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing