We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Voucher”
Review of Annabelles

Annabelles
Ranked #1,591 of 2,305 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Voucher”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We often take advantage of voucher offers to try out new restaurants, well we tried Annabelles because they had a good reputation, unfortunately we were extremely disappointed in our meals and the service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    24
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Much better than our last visit!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Annabelle's used to be a favourite of ours many years ago. However our last visit a couple if years ago was very disappointing, both in the quality of the meal & the service. However we decided to give it another go & what a difference! The restaurant was half full so a pleasant buzz without being noisy or crowded. The service was excellent and the menu varied with lots of choice. We both eventually ordered lamb shanks & they were really good! The meat was moist & tender & fell off the bone. The meal came with mash & green beans so no need for a side dish of verges. Bread & butter pudding for dessert was yum & my husband particularly liked the option of a small dessert, something more restaurants should offer. We will definitely put Annabelle's back on our list!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Meal destroyed by Groupon”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Sadly I have to agree with an earlier review re the Groupon deal - we hadn't bought vouchers and frankly had no idea a deal was on offer until we arrived at a very busy restaurant - the waiting staff were keen to now whether we were ''groupon'' customers or not which rather suggested two levels of food/service - even they said it was very confusing for them.

The decor and atmosphere was very agreeable however the food was a disappointment I ordered the Tempura Prawns - the batter was thick and soggy - rather like you would find on bad fish and chips. I ordered Duck for the main course - expecting it to have crispy skin and succulent flesh - wrong again - the skin was anything but crisp and the amount of fat was enough to make you gag - yes I know Duck is fatty but I have never had such an unappealing dish. I felt sorry for the people at the next table who were about to order from the blackboard menu only to have it whisked away by the owner mumbling something about having run out of fish.

Clearly they were run off their feet with the Groupon offer. Instead of gaining new customers they may have lost a few and damaged their reputation. Such a shame as I am sure this is a pleasant spot when all the bargain hunters are not around. would I return? Only if I could be guaranteed no Groupon deal was on offer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great Place ”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Annabelles is well worth a visit.The food is excellent and a warm welcome awaits
We often go in at lunch time for seafood chowder which is perfection.

Helpful?
Thank nettah2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A year on and it is even better”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Visited Annabelles again for one of those once a year special occasions. It was a very pleasant autumn evening with the restaurant almost full but the service was excellent. I enjoyed a scotch fillet, she tried the lamb racks ...both were well presented generous helpings and cooked to deliver the respective meats in the best way possible. Wine list is wide enough to meet most tastes and the waiter appeared to know enough about what was on offer to give good advice. All in all another enjoyable experience with perhaps a better menu than a year ago.

It was not possible to resist deserts with a tasty selection on offer and they were great too. This is a restaurant in the bayside suburb of St Heliers with easy parking and, in the evening, not too many people crowding the footpaths and walkway along the beach ....great for a stroll in the sunset after a fine meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Annabelles also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Annabelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing