We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, what service?”

China Yum Char Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #1,059 of 2,260 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waitakere City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service, what service?”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Second time in recent weeks I've had Yum Char there, should've learnt the first time. Slower than slow food delivery, waited so long for dishes. Empty containers and plates stacked all over the table no one to clear them away. Teapot sitting without lid on for ages, had to ask for refill. Sorry China, back to Grand Harbour for us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    43
    25
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not Bad Yum Cha Restaurant”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Was there with my family. It is basically typical Yum Cha restaurant that you can find in Hong Kong. The food was nice. I just didn't like the century egg congee.

The service was pretty much Hong Kong style ... I do understand that for some Westerner, it could be irritating, especially for the one who is new to Yum Cha culture.
Being Hong Kong-er myself, I find it quite decent.

Overall, acceptable and quite decent for me.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keylogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food, intimidating service”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Upon first arriving at our table, we were immediately bombarded by a constant barrage of servers shoving food in our faces asking if we wanted this, that or the other. It was quite overwhelming especially since this was our first time here with no idea of what to expect. I had to ask everyone surrounding our table to give us a minute to breath while we figure out what we're in the mood for.

Once they left us alone, we were able to decide what we wanted and also stopped servers walking by with trays that interested us. The food was pretty good, some things even better than average... so we left satisfied and happy.

Just be aware that they are a little intimidating at first if you don't know what to expect.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Humnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food - service OK”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Yum cha is good, speedy and selection is large. Service lets it down as it's not friendly and verges on rude. Feels like they want to turn the tables around very quickly but I will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TouringNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good but expensive”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Was just across the road from our hotel, when walked in very good impression, lovely big restaurant, food was good but service wasn't the greatest and sooooo expensive, sorry but wouldn't go back again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank theports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Yum Char Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to China Yum Char Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing