We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Times have changed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cock & Bull - CLOSED

Cock & Bull
Restaurant details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Times have changed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We went to Botany for a birthday celebration as we have done many times before. Before we had experienced good food, wine and boutique beers. It is very disappointing since the change over and has become less of a friendly pub and more of a eat and go place. I would definitely not be frequenting this place again because there are other good eateries in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedAuckland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“C&B Ellerslie - Excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

The C&B have several locations in Auckland.... and they have lately become part of a large corporate empire.... However, they are still excellent, as I found at their Ellerslie location.

The chef must be way better than the one at Botany Town, as the food was remarkably different - way better ! I recommend a visit, actually several as we have been doing over the last few months.

The beers are great, and a pint of Boddingtons was hugely enjoyed !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thesahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, staff, atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Cock & Bull at Lynfield in Auckland - we are regulars there & it is great - food is fabulous - never had a dud meal yet. The Pub has great atmosphere & the staff are so friendly & nothing is too much trouble - we only go there for lunches but I hear that dinners plus entertainment at night is all good too.. Am looking forward to my next lunch there - can taste it already.....

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benidorm, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“atmosphere lovely food not so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Whilst visiting auckland and feeling a bit homesick I fancied a proper english roast and ordered their roast beef lunch,but it realy didnt taste like any roast Sunday meal I have ever eaten in the UK,the food tasted as if it had been bought frozen from a supermarket and recooked.The waitress was lovely and friendly and there were plenty of photosof the royals all over the walls, the place looked like an authentic english pub,just a pity about the meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pam e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A great local pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We live in the area and while we don't always go there it is a very cost option especially in winter

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Corona4007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cock & Bull also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing