We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service. Rude, inattentive, unprofessional staff.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galbraith's Alehouse

Galbraith's Alehouse
Ranked #234 of 2,200 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Terrible service. Rude, inattentive, unprofessional staff.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I hosted a business function at Galbraiths. I chose the venue on the strength of their beer menu.

The beer is good and varied, but overpriced. The food is average.

The staff were unprofessional, inattentive and, towards the end of the evening, outright rude. I felt hugely embarrassed to host a business event in such an environment.

Until Galbraiths sort out their management I would recommend you avoid this place. A disgrace.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jh12342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    63
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A bit of a let down, did not come up to expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Dined here with friends last weekend. I don't drink beer which is probably a good thing as my friends thought it expensive. I chose the pulled pork pie which would have been excellent if some cook had not drowned it in too hot spices. The flavour of the pork and the apple that was in the pie could not be tasted and it was difficult to get through it because of the spiciness. My friends mainly had the fish and chips, they forgot to ask what the fish was and obviously no one serving bothered to advise them. The staff were certainly indifferent, little effort was made to welcome us and the hospitality was sadly lacking. We will not be repeating this experience, there are hundreds of other choices, we do not need to go back here for a lacklustre evening out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwikid0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
187 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Popular Pub Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We went with friends on a Friday evening. It was fairly crowded and surprisingly seemed to only have one barman for a very busy bar. The food was good standard pub grub and the service was largely self service. The pub did supply parking vouchers to display in your car in the carpark outside and that made the evening somewhat more convenient as we didn't have to search for a parking space.
FAQ.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Had dinner and a few drinks here. The beers are clearly for those who appreciate a quality craft brew but at around $9 per drink this was a bit steep. Also thought the food was very average for the price...around $25 for a main. Staff weren't overly friendly either...not rude but really didn't seem too interested in much. Would be unlikely to visit here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JWoody65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“No service ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Great beer albeit at premium prices biggest let down is no table service.. Unforgivable in such a small venue. As I write this I am looking at four staff standing around talking to each other .. PS I am sat at a counter next to the main bar.

Helpful?
Thank Blair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galbraith's Alehouse also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Galbraith's Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing