We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great craft beers and bar food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galbraith's Alehouse

Galbraith's Alehouse
Ranked #235 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great craft beers and bar food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Always a consistent experience if ever there was a great local pub then Galbraith's would be it. This is an iconic Mt Eden pub situated conveniently at the top of Mt Eden Rd and on my bus route home.
Great craft beer brewed on site as well as a range of other local beers with some knowledgable staff and good bar food to match.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Horoeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    63
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Humm must do better”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Been here a number of times over the last few years. This place has become stale. How can the hospitality industry employee some many unfriendly people.
Don't seem to be trying with their own ales and the imported selection is pricey and in the main only high ABV's. If overpriced food is the indicator then this is a "gastro-pub".
Not doing many things well at the moment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalbraithsAlehouse, Manager at Galbraith's Alehouse, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi there,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, we always appreciate hearing from our customers and know it is the fastest way for us to improve.

Since your visit in December we have had a lot going on.

We have had Head Chef Beki Lamb (formally of Sunday Painters and Ella restaurants in Ponsonby) join us and we have drastically improved both the contents and value of our menu.

We have just opened our new deck and 're-look' beer garden with more to follow over the next few month's

We have just released two new Premium additions to our tap range; the Sanata A.P.A. and the Rurick Imperial Russian Stout on top of our latest English style seasonal I.P.A.

And we have had a major service focused staff training and along with the new faces have lifted service across the board.

I urge you to come in and experience Galbraith's Alehouse for what it is and give us the opportunity to show you what we are really about.

feel free to contact us on barmanager@alehouse.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Terrible service. Rude, inattentive, unprofessional staff.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I hosted a business function at Galbraiths. I chose the venue on the strength of their beer menu.

The beer is good and varied, but overpriced. The food is average.

The staff were unprofessional, inattentive and, towards the end of the evening, outright rude. I felt hugely embarrassed to host a business event in such an environment.

Until Galbraiths sort out their management I would recommend you avoid this place. A disgrace.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jh12342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A bit of a let down, did not come up to expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Dined here with friends last weekend. I don't drink beer which is probably a good thing as my friends thought it expensive. I chose the pulled pork pie which would have been excellent if some cook had not drowned it in too hot spices. The flavour of the pork and the apple that was in the pie could not be tasted and it was difficult to get through it because of the spiciness. My friends mainly had the fish and chips, they forgot to ask what the fish was and obviously no one serving bothered to advise them. The staff were certainly indifferent, little effort was made to welcome us and the hospitality was sadly lacking. We will not be repeating this experience, there are hundreds of other choices, we do not need to go back here for a lacklustre evening out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwikid0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
187 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Popular Pub Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We went with friends on a Friday evening. It was fairly crowded and surprisingly seemed to only have one barman for a very busy bar. The food was good standard pub grub and the service was largely self service. The pub did supply parking vouchers to display in your car in the carpark outside and that made the evening somewhat more convenient as we didn't have to search for a parking space.
FAQ.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galbraith's Alehouse also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Galbraith's Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing