We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It COULD be fantastic.”

Katsura Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #213 of 2,403 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$43
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Enjoy a front-row seat at Katsura as our talented chefs prepare your meal in front of you with the exciting and highly visual techniques of Teppanyaki-style cooking. You can indulge in a variety of authentic Japanese cuisine, including fresh sushi and sashimi. A night of fun and good food at Katsura may just turn out to be the highlight of your stay at Grand Millennium Auckland Hotel.
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We are fortunate to have eaten tepanyaki at a few places in Auckland and overseas.
Katsura has all the elements to make it a truely great place to eat.
It has windows looking out into a lovely Japanese garden. The place has a contemporary feel to it and the service from the waiting staff is perfect.
They have an extremely good Sake menu and the wait staff are knowledgable about their product.
The food was what we would expect.
But there is something missing.WE
go for tepenyaki for the experience and entertainment as well as the food
You expect a few laughs with the chef and to generally have fun.
THAT element was missing.-the FUN
We felt like we needed to speak in hushed tones whilst there.
As in the title It has all the elements to be a truely great place to eat but misses the mark.
If it was the only experience we had of tepan cooking we might not have been disapointed.
We weren't put off enough so we will never return. But disapointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 81 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed the evening at the Rendevous and decided to eat at Katsura. Dining in hotel restaurants isn't usually the norm but am very pleased we did so this time. We had a lovely meal which consisted of a large platter of sashimi and platter of sushi. Not being a dessert person I chose to have the miso soup which was so delicious had two servings. I found the surroundings very comfortable and the service was excellent.
The meal was complimented with a bottle of Dogpoint Sav Blanc. This restaurant will be on my list to visit again next time I stay at Rendevous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren g, Marketing Executive at Katsura Japanese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Gill B,
Thank you for your review of Katsura Japanese Restaurant located at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.
On behalf of the Team at Katsura, we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Chef Suzuki San and his team hand select the very best produce from the fish market daily and prepare each dish to order with great care and precision. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the sushi and sashimi, and that the service you received was excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Katsura in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

New Year's Eve, evening meal, table booked for 9PM. This was to be my wife's first experience of Japanese food. I accept its NYE staff are probably hard to come by, the restaurant was not full, but it was busy. Some time passed before we were looked after, as we started to order, we were told that the Beef had run out, and for Sushi, only Salmon or Scallops were available, as the Fish market was closed!! We Found something's to order, waited a further 30 minutes for the most bland Japanese food ever tasted to turn up. Very Disappointing. The only reason I can't give this a terrible, is the staff that were there were very apologetic, and the Wine was good.

Thank Ikorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren g, Marketing Executive at Katsura Japanese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Ikorel .

Thank you for your review of Katsura Japanese Restaurant.
Please allow me to extend my sincerest apologies to you in advance for experience you describe. This does not reflect the usual standards we practice and the team was very disappointed to receive this feedback.
We value all feedback and take every opportunity to improve our guests' experience with us. These matters will be addressed with the team and rectified.

Kind Regards
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We don't usually dine in hotels by choice, but our meal here while staying at the Rendezvous Hotel was possibly the best hotel meal we've had. The surroundings may not be authentic, but the service and food was. We read that portions are large so, not being big eaters we chose a bento box we could share and two entrées - which were both large enough to satisfy me. With a bottle of sake we came in at under $100 which is pretty good for Auckland. One of our charming waitresses (they were all charming) was concerned we weren't ordering desert, so brought us a dish each with a scoop of ice cream - arigato!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kiwihilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren g, Marketing Executive at Katsura Japanese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear HilaryMatarangi

Thank you very much for your review of Katsura Japanese Restaurant, we were delighted to read your comments about the fantastic service you received, I will be sure to pass this on to the team! We pride ourselves on offering excellent value for money, good portion sizes and the best quality produce available.

On behalf of the team thank you and we do look forward to having you dine with us again.

Kind Regards
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed at the Rendezvous Hotel for a few nights before leaving Auckland. This restaurant is on site on the 2nd floor of the hotel. The food was served in less than 15 minutes and came hot and authentic. Was solo on this trip, but this would also be a good place for a couple or several.
As with most Japanese restaurants you get your chop sticks, but can get silver wear here if one is not best versed in using chops. Staff was pleasant, very pleasant. Enjoyed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren g, Marketing Executive at Katsura Japanese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Shane G

Thank you for your review of Katsura Japanese Restaurant located at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our authentic offering, and found our team to be pleasant and accommodating.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Katsura in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Katsura Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Katsura Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing