We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service nice meal”
Review of Kermadec Ocean Fresh Restaurant - CLOSED

Kermadec Ocean Fresh Restaurant
Price range: US$0 - US$92
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good service nice meal”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had not booked so happy to wait. We had a table overlooking the viaduct which was nice as a hot balmy night. We shared the calamari entree $18 which was sufficient for 2. The eyefillet steak we chose was cooked to perfection and came with 2 scallops $38. The sides which were rather large all $9.50 . We selected a salad which was plenty to share. There are 2 kermadec restaurants...we dined at the grill and brasserie....the other is fine dining. We appreciated being able to buy a carafe of wine which was about 3/4 bottle of the wine we selected.
The wait staff were attentive but not intrusive .We would definitely return although quite expensive it was a memorable meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LyndyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    89
    38
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good seafood!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I only tried the seafood plater and the cheese plater, It was a really nice meal and a great place to try New Zealand seafood. We had an amazing place on the terrace, right on the harbour, the view was beautiful and the service too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMontpelllier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, very nice views”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The concierge of our hotel recommended Kermadec and I'm still grateful. We sat in the fine dining area - a bit more formal than the bistro area, which was more lively and had more people. Still, there were enough people to create a good atmosphere. And the staff certainly contributed to that too.
The food was absolutely lovely and beautifully plated. The portions were also good. And while this restaurant concentrates on fish/seafood, they don't forget those who prefer meat. We then both received a 'pre-dessert' (eventhough I didn't have a dessert), before having dessert.
While we sat in the fine dining restaurant, the atmosphere certainly wasn't formal. The staff were very friendly and had time for a quick chat, which I didn't expect but really enjoyed.
The restaurant also has very nice views of the Auckland harbour, which adds to the experience.
They have a good wine list with a nice price range and you can choose to add vegetables to your mains, but we found that this actually wasn't necessary.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belagonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice NYE”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We ate at the Fine Restaurant during NYE. The food was excellent and the service by our waiter (Ivan) was outstanding.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chevalierlatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fab food if a bit pricey”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Views, atmosphere, food & service were excellent. Prices a bit on the high side though for portions. Loos need an update :)
Definitely a good recommendation for great produce cooked well!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kermadec Ocean Fresh Restaurant also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing