We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely for a special occasion”
Review of Kermadec Ocean Fresh Restaurant - CLOSED

Kermadec Ocean Fresh Restaurant
Price range: US$0 - US$92
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely for a special occasion”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We went for my husband's birthday, and had a lovely meal. Catering for both adults and older children the service was first class with the food to match. It was worth the money, and we had a great evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WOLTA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    89
    38
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland new zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a delightful evening @ this Kermadec restaurant. The food and service were excellent
the atmosphere was just right, didn't feel rushed and were able to enjoy the
view of the viaduct from our table, really spoilt for choice with the menu and wine list, the only hard decision of the evening was making the decision, my fish was excellent as was my Husbands choice of steak and oysters.
A very nice night and way to celebrate thanks to our son and daughter -in -law that thoughtfully organized the special treat for us :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leighdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This review is for the Tiki hut at Kermadec”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Since the Tiki Hut does not have their own Tripadvisor page I will write the review here. First of all for anyone that has been to a Tiki bar/lounge and loved it (like I do) or even mildly enjoy it DO NOT COME HERE. If you don't care about tiki bars you may not care would this place looks like. Other than the name this place has nothing to do with Tiki bars it really should be sued for false advertising no tiki atmosphere no tiki/tropical drink menu. Its very small again I would not have cared had they themed this place even a little bit. The view from the bar is nice you can see the viaduct and it's a great place to people watch. Even with this being a fake tiki bar I was going to stay for a drink anyways and then move on but there was no bartender at the bar at all and no cocktail waitresses either so after a few minutes of being thirsty I moved on. Again forget the name of this place do not think of cool a tiki bar in Auckland lets check it out don't waste your time. I realize this page is for Keradec restaurant but this is part of their restaurant and if they wanted their upscale restaurant to get better reviews they would not try and insult people with this wanna be tiki bar that can't even fake it right.
The only thing I enjoyed about this place was while watching an episode of Police Ten 7 ( like Cops in the USA) seeing these drunk idiots that had been assaulted by the bouncer which actually made me remember to post this review so that other peoples time and money are saved for a place that care about their customers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john262702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Mediocre meat in a fish restaurant”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had actually wanted to go to a steak house this evening, but when we arrived, it was closed. Strolling around in the harbour area, we spotted this restaurant that had been recommended for its fish. We however ordered meat, which was a mistake. The meat was worse than in the simplest joint in the provinces where it cost less than half the price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luxotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great food, service and location”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

There are 2 Kermadecs next door to each other; a fine dining restaurant and a bar/bistro. We chose to eat on the terrace at the bar/bistro which had excellent views over Auckland Harbour and marina. The food was excellent, the service fantastic and the atmosphere great. The John Dory and Snapper that we had were cooked to perfection and very tasty. The oysters were very fresh. Our waitress was friendly and served our meals with perfect timing. The wine list was good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sydaus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kermadec Ocean Fresh Restaurant also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing