We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai food and service”
Review of Mai Thai

Mai Thai
Ranked #115 of 2,329 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Most authentic Thai cuisine in Auckland central city area. We use fresh herbs and spices. Warm atmosphere, delicious food, friendly staffs, reasonable price range. Good range of New Zealand wine.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food and service”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

In the 1990's I was a regular but in the last decade have tended to visit only once or twice a year. I went for an impromptu lunch yesterday with a friend. Whilst the food is always excellent and the service friendly (definitely my favourite Thai restaurant) what amazes me most is that it has been this way for so long - most restaurants only last a few years.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Jane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    109
    25
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine coast
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“good Thai food, average service”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

You k now those nights when you go to dinner and its ruined because of grumpy staff? we didn't let then wreck it but it could of easily happened. the food is good, served quick and presented well and its tasty. the Décor is average, but what Thai Restaurant isn't? We just wished they had a bit of personality or didn't look like they hated being there.
Don't be deterred by it being up stairs . the food is what you are hear for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justcruizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty dam good”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Good quality food, staff were very friendly. Quick service considering it was a very busy Saturday night with large tables of groups. I was very impressed with our service. only thing I can pick about the place is that the tables were a little close together.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh flavours”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This restaurant was suggested to us by the Hotel staff at City Life in Auckland. The meals were beautifully cooked & delicious , the Service was wonderful. We would certainly recommend Mai Thai.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good authentic Thai food”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Loved the food and wines. A wonderful choice and perfectly cooked and presented. We were a bit put out at having to pay a hefty supplement because it was Boxing Day. However, we would certainly visit again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belvedere007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mai Thai also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Mai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing