We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everyone was happy”
Review of Molten

Molten
Ranked #357 of 2,326 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: US$0 - US$100
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Gisborne Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“everyone was happy”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Everyone was happy with their meals - from the slow rotisseried lamb to the souffle, frites and duck fat potatoes...
too cold to sit outside on a June evening but plenty of space in the restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    33
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough restaurant serving rich French-style food and pizzas”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Although we were expecting the restaurant to be full on Mothers Day, it was surprisingly empty. Décor is a bit cold and austere but pleasant enough. Service was friendly and efficient enough. The menu is limited and there are only a few vegetarian dishes. I opted for the wild mushroom risotto, which was OK but not great. It was way to rich with far too much butter, which left a greasy residue on my tongue and lips. Other food looked OK but also rather laden in butter. The side dish of beans and roast almonds was swimming in butter. This may appeal to some but certainly did not appeal to me. The music was almost too loud, especially after we first arrived. Overall I was disappointed having heard some good things about Molten.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mid week dinner”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was a return visit to Molten and this time it was a Thursday evening. There were three of us celebrating a family birthday. The sour dough bread was amazing and we were given another serving due to the delay on our mains - which we hadn't noticed at all! The 21yr old had the steak and praised it highly. I had the duck which was delicious and the birthday boy chose the lamb, which was being roasted on a spit out the back. We were too replete to consider desserts this time around but look forward to returning to try them out again. This is a small and attentive restaurant with ambience and sophistication. It is located in the Mt Eden village so we enjoyed browsing the Timeout Bookstore on our way home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nzdarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemenos, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice staff, lovely food and good wine selection”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I liked the staff's friendliness and the food was nice although not exceptional. I had the Monday night $7 special which was very nice. The only down side is how loud the music was (for me).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireaGemenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A Hidden Suburban Treasure”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were advised to take the trip to Mt Eden to this restaurant. We were certainly not disappointed and this would have to be one of our better dining out experiences. An inviting and relaxed atmosphere. The wine list is unbelievable. A huge selection of European and local wines to cover all tastes and budgets. Sven, a noted Sommelier, was extremely helpful in his recommendations, generous in a taste before purchase and passionate about his restaurant.
The menu had an interesting variety of choices for each course. A modest number of choices beautifully cooked and presented is a sure sign of getting a top quality meal. The service on a busy night was most attentive and in no way intrusive. A clever skill. A must do for anyone who appreciates great food and wine. Two private rooms available for special occasions a bonus.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Molten also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
New Zealand, South Pacific
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Mount Eden, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Molten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing