We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Pub”

The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe
Ranked #36 of 2,305 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$29
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: In 1999 The Occidental Hotel on Vulcan Lane, Auckland was transformed into The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe which is the first authentic Belgian Beer Cafe in the Southern Hemisphere. We proudly serve an extensive selection of the finest Belgian beer and some of the best wines from New Zealand and Australia, complimented by authentic Belgian cuisine.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Pub”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great spot to grab a brew and catch up on the World Cup action after a long flight. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pharmgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    266
    65
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Pub located in Vulcan Lane. My Husband and I went for lunch yesterday and had a most enjoyable lunch ..The place was full with mostly young people. My man and I being from the older age group...My lunch was the mushroom dish and my husband had the salmon dish.Both were delicious ...Staff were very friendly ...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PegndJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh selection of Belgian brews & 1/2 off mussel Mondays!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

For starters, this beer cafe or pub is located in quaint Vulcan Lane away from the Queens St rush. It's mad hopping and quite fun on Mondays when all the mussel dishes are half off. The steamed mussel pots with various broths along with the baked mussels with various toppings. I would recommend their white wine garlic broth and their spinach, bacon and cheese baked. Not to mention, you get to wash it down with delicious Belgian brews. I would recommend the Leffe Blonde and the Bella Vue Kriek if you like your brews on the light & sweeter side. This place gets even more exciting and a true local NZ experience on a night when the All Blacks have a game on. Really an awesome experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The pork spare ribs were lovely. An extensive selection of beers and wines. Wait staff are friendly and attentive

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“AMAZING STEAK”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The steak and fries I had were both extremely large portions. For a fat kid like me, I was in heaven. It was also a great atmosphere and I would love to go back!

Helpful?
2 Thank Rdhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing