We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood marinara”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Prego Restaurant

Prego Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 2,235 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: outdoor dining, Take out available, Full menu all day and night.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great seafood marinara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Went on a Sunday night, ordered the seafood marinara and the lasagna. Seafood marinara was delicious, and great value for the amount and variety of seafood included. Lasagna was tasty, but nothing special.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    133
    36
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So consistent , Always great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Have been going to Prego on a regulart basis since it first opened. Have never had a meal where felt it was below their usual high standard. The menu changes to reflect the seasons but there are certain dishes that just stay on the menu.
The outside courtyard is great and in the winter they supply blankets if my wife gets a little cold.
Staff always very efficient and Management run a good operation although think it is about time someone told Brandon to update his wardrobe of shirts.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ponsonbypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never let's you down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We have been going to Prego for a few years now (my husband is from New Zealand so we go visit every two years) and it always hits the spot. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. The food is consistently good. In a city like Auckland, that has so many restaurants to choose from, we always make sure that we go back to Prego on at least one visit ( two if time allows) and we are never disappointed. It never fails to deliver. It's nice to know there is always somewhere we can rely on that produces good quality food at affordable prices.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cammy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great lunch in the sun on Ponsonby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a great lunch at Prego. They have a nice small covered terrace so that you are not immediately on street level. We had a great salad, Vitello and a pizza to share. All is freshly made and the food is very nice. The service was also were good, we could take our time and first had two courses and ordered the pizza later. One tip I think it is nice if your offer some fresh bread with the salad with some good Italian olive oil, that would have made it perfect for me.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City
Level Contributor
164 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good - perhaps more for families than a romantic date night?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Saw an earlier review with very similar experience. We went as a couple looking for a romantic dinner, but there were numerous children running about having a great time. This isn't a bad thing and we enjoyed our food - but it was a different experience from what we were expecting based on photos / reviews. Service was very attentive, eating outside was nice albeit a bit of a playground :-).

Had the pappardelle, green beans, calamari and pomodori, with a couple of glasses of 99 Rows - all were good and worthy of 4 stars.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JKandAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prego Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Prego Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing