We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Steaks and Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safran Cafe Restaurant

Safran Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #253 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newport, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Steaks and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Tuesday night is cheap steaks great value at $20 for a beautifully tender scotch fillet served and excellent Spanish Rioja.Staff friendly and helpful also enjoyed breakfast their the following morning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BHewe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    44
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First timer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was our first time to this restaurant. Great choice as there was easy parking, the staff were friendly and there was good atmosphere. We started by sharing a pitta bread and hummus, my wife had a chicken fettuccini which she raved about. I had the lamb which was delicious. Sorry no space for desert so can not comment. I had a special coffee which was disappointing and my wife said her flat White was very strong. Although the restaurant was not to busy another couple where seated at the table next to us. Which we felt strange as she was very loud and did spoil the experience a little. We will be back soon with friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quattra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“very good local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Two recent visits with friends .On both occasions the service was prompt, friendly and helpful
Both cold nights and the restaurant was warm and cosy ,and while the fit out is average it works well
Menu- very good selection to choose from ,with emphasis on middle east food but unfair to label it a ME restaurant .Portions generous
Very good value and would definitely visit again

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newmarket18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I came to eat in Safran on a wednesday night. The restaurant looked quiet but I decided to try it anyway as it looked nice. Upon entering myself and my husband were greeted by friendly members of staff and offered seats of our choice.

The staff were polite and helpful, telling us they had a new chef and the specials he had created. We started with the chilly prawns from the tapas menu to share, which was delicious.

After my husband decided to try one of the new specials (an eye fillet with mash) whilst I tried the chicken fettuccine. The eye fillet was cooked to perfection and my pasta was also great. We also shared a dessert (a sticky ginger pudding - delicious).

The staff offered me and my husband two complimentary lemoncello's - a perfect end to a perfect evening. I will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thecoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worse than the Dogs Dinner!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Probably the worst meal i've ever had in New Zealand and i've lived her for two years and eat out weekly!!!

I was really hungry and looking forward to the meal as the menu looked amazing and the place was busy....but the food was absolutely awful.

My husband ordered the lamb and it tasted like someone had had an accident with the salt container and dumped the whole container in by accident...it was so salty he couldn't eat the food.

My chicken was oily, greasy and full of bits of grizzle and i couldn't eat it. The sauce was tasteless and uninspiring, despite being starving i couldn't finish my meal and the greek side salad we had ordered was nothing resembling a greek salad and contained only a bit of wilted rocket and some cucumber for which we were expected to pay $15 for!!

I am shocked to see what there are are actually positive reviews for this place I will never go back it was absolutely disgusting and exceptionally over priced for tripe i wouldn't even feed to my dog!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louniliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Safran Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Safran Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing