We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sierra Cafe

Sierra Cafe
Ranked #640 of 2,225 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“average food and service”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The food is average and at a higher than average price. The service is pretty ordinary. The girl used her hands to grab the salad, instead of using utensils. The one good thing about this café is that it has free wifi for their guests.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ninja-Kawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    17
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“How the great have fallen....”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We only go to Auckland once in a blue moon, and when we do we always go to the Sierra Cafe, Greenlane. Lovely breakfasts, reasonably priced, and always buzzy...... BUT!! Last Sunday we were concerned because it was 9am before we arrived there, and usually the place is packed - there were only 3 others there. We ordered and were surprised to find 1 Eggs Benedict, 1 poached eggs, 1 apple juice, 2 coffees, and 1 toast was $47.10! We sat down - we both noticed that the chairs were grimy and so were the tables. The eggs benedict had no toast or muffin - just one of the poached eggs was sitting on some sort of potato thingee. The sauce could hardly been seen, and was not nice. The order for toast and preserves came with a tiny amount of butter and one jam, and 2 pieces of toast from a very small loaf.
We left disappointed - we'll never go again. I said to my husband they must have changed hands.... really a shame...... the new owners need to shape up or else they won't have a business for very long.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ambermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wine Country California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delicious, fresh and friendly”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

After hours of walking around city, headed back to ferry terminal we walked down the pedestrian Fort St at around 5pm. The cafe was empty as I believe they serve the downtown lunch crowd mainly. They welcomed us in and we chose from a nice assortment of daily special s on their black blackboard. Fresh Cajun chicken salad was generously portioned, fresh, graceful and filling. We also ordered the Pumkin soup of the day which was also delicious, served in a mealsized bowl with grilled garlic bread on the side. A very lovely find in downtown Auckland.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leeyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Coffee & Food”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I call by this cafe reguarly, usually around twice a week. I find the service to be excellent, the place is clean and sports a secluded sunny courtyard out back if you prefer that to inside seating. Contrary to other comments, I find the coffee here great & I know coffee as am a big fan of it & tasted many brews from all over the world. Sierra compares favourably with the other cafes in Mt. Eden & Im a bit surprisewd at the "average" comments left by other reviewers. Maybe they need to clean their palate first ?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCrucible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very average!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Unclean, average service. Would not suprise me if there were cockroaches lurking in the cracks. The manager has a lot of improvements to make and a smile wouldn't hurt her either from what I saw that day. Only upside would be plenty of secure parking and the coffee was ok.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sierra Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Sierra Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing