We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you have a reservation for a weekend night”

Soul Bar and Bistro
Ranked #23 of 2,260 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
California
Level Contributor
281 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Make sure you have a reservation for a weekend night”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

If you are lucky you might get a table between 6 and 8pm but it is bet to have a reservation. My husband and I walked in as we were strolling along the viaduct. WE were escorted to a table that we were told we would need to vacate in an hours time, which we did. In the meantime the service was fast, the food was good and it had a great vibe! Young and a little on the noisy side, I would not recommend it for a quiet romantic dinner spot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rsf4sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    454
    141
    45
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVE IT - LOVE IT - LOVE IT”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Wow this place took me to another level, loved it, not only the taste, but also the presentation and the location, it wowed all of us. I brought friends of mine here who were over from Australia who have very high standards when eating out, as well as myself and we were very happy campers I must say. The meals are also reasonably priced as well. Definitely coming back. I personally guarantee that you wont be let down here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 45Chrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Favourite Auckland eatery!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Consistently good throughout the ten tears of regular visits. Best location in down-town Auckland (slightly elevated position on the water), a switched-on team to welcome you and steer you through the evening, an edgy fine menu (minus the foams and plate smears), excellent list of Kiwi wines (quality not quantity), famous bluff oysters usually on the menu, a good vibey ambience ...
Give this spot a try if you're visiting Auckland.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tastytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
353 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“fine, ambient, trendy, professional but not really special”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The area reminiscent of Puerto Madero in Buenos Aires. It lacks the overall verve, I mean the location, but it is more 'yachty'. The choice food and wine-wise the minimum of what it should be in terms of subtlety and complexity. The local wine production under-represented. The waiting is by not very professional or articulate charming young people. The place is noisy. Punctual and friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bardangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Turn down that music! Is it a restaurant or a disco?”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I came to eat. Can't rave, seems this place has little competition yet so they just coast along. It reminds me of an upmarket, more polished family restaurant. There were unexpected additions to classic dishes and no heat when there should have been. At least they were punctual and friendly. But what is with playing daggy old loud music in Auckland especially in that harbour food hall precinct! Maybe that's why they have bouncers at the entrance, it's nightclub first, bistro definitely a less profitable second.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soul Bar and Bistro also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Soul Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing