We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even go there”
Review of Thai Chilli

Thai Chilli
Ranked #1,687 of 2,326 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: US$14 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located on ground floor PWC Tower 188 Quay Street (Lower Albert Street) Auckland city center, opposite Down Town Shopping center.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
583 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Don't even go there”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We were discussing where to have supper and couldn't agree until I persuaded my wife to go to a Thai restaurant in downtown Auckland. From the outside it looked pretty typical. You expect other countries to have different styles of cooking Thai, Chinese, etc. However what was served was nothing like I've had in any restaurant. I had a chicken curry. The chicken wasn't good and it didn't matter since there was almost none. The sauce was watery and flavorless. My wife had a appetizer that was unrecognizable. There was a group of 10 people next to us that had just finished eating. They seemed to have enjoyed whatever they had eaten, or at least were in high spirits. Maybe they knew what to order. I wouldn't go here I've had better street vendor food

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobxxxxCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    33
    16
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tidy, quick and friendly”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Seated and served quickly. Food arrived within 10 minutes, telling me its just a through together food or their prep was good. After tasting I think it's a bit of both. Enjoyable, but we cook better Thai food at home. Bus stop is right outside and so you get people who are waiting for the bus leaning on the glass which puts you off. They also forgot to bring my husbands beer and I had to ask them again! Tasty but by no means outstanding.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsT-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food good but let down by service”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We ate here one evening in November 2013. The restaurant was very busy when we got there but they found us a table but unfortunately then seemed to forget about us. They did eventually take a drinks order but we had to remind them. The food however when it came was very good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank baggiebird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennI
Level 6 Contributor
693 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“One Man Show”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Simple Chinese decor, excellent food, reasonably priced and situated at the end of Quay street. Had sauteed vegetables with rice which was fresh and tasty and my husband had a snapper which he liked as well. Service was a bit slow as I saw just one person handling everything from taking orders, to running between the kitchen and serving to getting the check . Worth a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
1,403 reviews
516 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 616 helpful votes
“Great Thai, but sad service”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

If you are around the quayside, and feel like doing Thai, then this place would be a great idea. I loved the sea food here, the steamed red snapper in lemon and coriander sauce was mind blowing. The fish was super fresh and juicy. The veg rice and the tofu with veggies were yummy too. Service is a bit hap hazard. They are under staffed and the few people who work here do multiple jobs and food is not brought in sequence. Yet, we had a great meal and came out smiling.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SagarVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Chilli also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Thai Chilli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing