We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty happy hour”

The Esplanade Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #315 of 2,327 Restaurants in Auckland
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Tasty happy hour”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Popped in for their happy hour, drinks were $7 and we had some tasty little nibbles. The Greek meatballs and the kumara chips were delicious with our drinks

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HappyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Some one is doing good things in the kitchen”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We reviewed this restaurant under the hotel entry with Tripadvisor and rated it very highly. Check the hotel review out for more detailed comment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Seriously good, seriously good value”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is the second revisit to Esplanade since my earlier review. It is worth being sure when one's deciding whether to click on four or five stars.

I'm happy to award The Esplanade the full monty this time. The food was superb, the service was very good and the value is simply outstanding. Not only is there now somewhere top notch to eat in Devonport, even the notoriously flinty locals cannot complain about the prices.

The food stands comparison with the likes of Euro, Soul, Kitchen et al. But mains are $35 or under and a good bottle of wine can be had for less than $50. For Auckland, that's excellent.

We'll be going back. Often.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DitchDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, service not so much”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

With Peter Thornley taking over in the kitchen, assisted by some of his crew from Queenstown, we thought it worth trying the Esplanade again after a looooong gap.

The place has enormous potential and I hear it is going to be closed for a full re-do over winter. In the meantime it still hits the spot food-wise. Unfortunately, the service on our visit was, well, missing. Our waitress seemed to forget us. Luckily the barman came to our rescue. Having pointed this out we were offered a free dessert and while not usually my thing the cheesecake (in a jar) was lovely.

I'm hoping the service issue was a one off and we shall definitely be going again.

By the way, the location description is misleading. The Esplanade is in DEVONPORT, not Auckland Central. Though, being directly opposite the ferry terminal, it coudn't be easier to get to from the CBD.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DitchDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dining”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Over priced. You pay for each item soon adds up. Dont mind paying for a good meal but this was not one of them. Ordered the age steak. Med to well. Came med rare. Tuff. Very dissapointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Esplanade Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Devonport, Auckland Region
 
Devonport, Auckland Region
Devonport, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Esplanade Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing