We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about the best food in Auckland”
Review of The Grove

The Grove
Ranked #2 of 2,305 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just about the best food in Auckland”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I have been long time fans of this classy, innovative restaurant and I have been meaning to write a review for years, finally getting around to it after eating fabulous food at fabulous restaurants in San Francisco recommended by the owner of the Grove Michael Dearth. The last meal we had here was in June to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary. It was a Monday evening which meant that it was the de gustation menu on offer. Wow! we were blown away on just how good the courses were. I thought nothing could beat the de gustation offered at Marque in Sydney, how wrong I was. The Grove is as good as any three hat restaurant in Sydney or any three star Michillin restaurant in the States (including the French Laundry). This place is an absolute must for any foodie visitor to Auckland. In my view its probably the best consistently fabulous restaurant in Auckland.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    919
    140
    49
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We celebrated our birthday's at The Grove this year. It was an outstanding experience in all regards. Great service, great food, fantastic ambience, beautifully appointed dining room. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone. You have to try it at least once.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really good service.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We booked the restaurant literally at the last minute.

I wanted to treat my wife to a meal which we were in Auckland for the weekend.

The service was very good. Both my wife and I had developed a sore throat that evening and they made us a hot water drink with ginger and honey. I clearly need to develop a sore throat more often as it was delightful to drink.

The vegetarian tasting menu was hit and miss. Some of the dishes were absolutely spot on, others were okay but not brilliant.

One difficulty is that my wife and I are comparing the Grove to restaurants around the world where we have eaten before hence a rating of four rather than five.

The restaurant and the service was lovely for a romantic meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mephistophelean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We went just recently last Wednesday Night after three years back again. We expected a wonderful special meal like 3 years ago. We had an after celebration of my Husbands 80th Birthday.
What is supposed to be one of the best restaurants in Auckland, turned out to be just average.The starters were OK but not exciting. The main, my husband had, Wild shot Red Deer, which din't taste gamy or wild. It tasted boring and was luke warm. I also expected more from my Pheasant stuffed with Sweetbreads. I could not taste any sweetbreads at all. Since I am an excellent cook and lived for 7 years in Belgium, I expected more from a Professional. I told the manager about it and he was listening very friendly but didn't seem to understand that I had a strong demand for exceptional food. He shouted us "generously" 1 Glass of Grappa,
The dessert was the best of the whole meal. But I was honestly very disappointed and still do not understand, why we didn't have a better experience. May be the night was wrong and we got the wrong Chef. I heard he is Russian. Nothing against him, but I expected the Head Chef to cook here.
My Husband got a nice dessert plate with Happy 80 th Birthday, which was nice, but not unusual in this sort of establishment.
The ambience of this restaurant is very nice if the food would be better, it would be perfect.
I will think twice about coming back here. Auckland has so many good restaurants and the competition is huge.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MargitandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“great overall experience”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Had lunch in the sunshine here today and it was as good as I remembered. Excellent food, great presentation, professional service (yes, really, in Auckland!). Highly recommended, one of the best in the city.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sinbarambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grove also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing