We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Seafood and Value too.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Landing Seafood Restaurant & Bar

The Landing Seafood Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #357 of 2,200 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, New Zealand, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Quality Seafood and Value too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We dined here on a Sunday very recently top value we chose the $20 lunch special, superb seafood chowder,or hearty vegetable soup, there were several other choices,Gurnard fish&chips
in beer batter,all hot fresh and tasty there were,several other choices the soup came with toasted ciabatta bread, all in all a very good meal,for a total of $40, plus we enjoyed glasses of Opiko Bay Sauvignon Blanc only $7 a glass attentive service from our attractive waitress, and the chef even came out to see that all was well, the restaurant was well patronised, with all age groups,would we visit again? Absolutely, Highly reccomended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank JamesMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A big Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I went for lunch mainly because we were in the area and it looked interesting. We had a prawn cocktail each for starters and a seafood meal for our main courses. The whole cost came to $40. The food was very fresh and well presented. It truly was better than some top restaurants. The service was also top notch . Quick service and very friendly. This place is a real gem and I will be back. Well done to the owners and staff at The Landing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank thirtyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“TREAT YOURSELF - AND HER.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Whether you suit a high chair or a wheelchair this is a great place to eat. Or even if you can walk.

Get someone to heave you up a couple of steps at the entrance, turn left and get up to the bar.
If you have as good taste as myself - have a Guiness. Plenty of other good choices here.
When you are sick of watching the Warriors or other rubbish teams, mosey in to the cosy restaurant and get as close as you can to the fire.

You will find straight forward tasty kiwi menu offerings,
unobtrusive friendly service, generous servings. Perfect!

You will be impressed by the clean, smart, simple surroundings.
She will love you for it.
Just take my word!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We eat here a lot as we're local. It''s consistently good, with a nice atmosphere, good menu and lovely staff. The setting is great, a lovely old building with warm timber floors and lots of old photos in the pub next door. Good for families earlier in the evening. The servings are generous so sides aren't normally needed in our experience. It's not fine dining, but its good, honest food. Desserts the only down side - they seem a bit pre-made and lack flair. But you go there for the seafood anyway...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waiuku, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Seefood / seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Warm welcome from the staff, seated promptly with hospitality, told of the specials, drinks came , orders for food taken.The seafood chowder is just that, mussels, shrimps, prawns, scallops, calamari, fish and by the way it is delightfully delicious. My partner had the special of a dozen oysters with a side salad, she declared them as the best thing since sliced bread. All in all the meals and service is excellent and we shall return again, it is that good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Landing Seafood Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Landing Seafood Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing