We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but very dated & noisey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parnell Pines Hotel
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Adelaide
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Location but very dated & noisey”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed first night on a recent 14 day road trip around the North Island after arriving from Melbourne. Have stayed in the near city suburb of Parnell at the Quality Inn on a previous trip but this time chose the Parnell Inn as it is on the main road close to restaurants and shops etc. The location is fantastic and the small cafe out front serves excellent food. Management are friendly. The rooms are small and dated but comfortable enough for on night. Extremely noisey being on the main road, particularly as there is no air conditioning and as it was warm we had to sleep with the windows open. On site parking is avail though limited and quite a challenge given it is down a narrow steep drive with little turning room at the bottom. A good hotel for one night but would prefer the off street location of Quality Inn,

Room Tip: Excellent value, but you pay for what you get. Approx 2km to central Auckland. Parnell is a good loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    65
    27
    6
    10
See reviews for
21
57
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We booked the standard studio room at this motel and we found it quite small. There is a fridge, kettle and toaster but not a lot of room to make use of them. We did look at an Executive Room as well and this seemed to be a much better size.

The motel also has free parking which is very helpful.

The motel is conveniently located for restaurants, bars and shops in Parnell with one of our favourite restaurants, The Java Rooms, immediately opposite.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alandsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

As with any other inner-city hostelry, parking is the biggest challenge here. The small (6 spaces) car park is reached by a very steep, long driveway, it's not possible to see if there are any spaces free until you get down there, and then if it's full, you have to back up or attempt a 32-point turn in a very tight, awkward corner. All it takes is one selfish person to park their large car at an angle or not tight up to the wall, to make the carpark unusable.

Having said that, we found the rest of the Inn very acceptable. Our room was small and overlooked a wall, but the bed was a decent king-size and the bathroom although compact worked as expected. It was a little disappointing, having booked over eight months in advance, to find there were larger rooms with nice views of the harbour, unlike ours. However, it was sufficient. There's no aircon, but standard electric fans are adequate.

Location is excellent - up the top of Parnell Road, near the Cathedral and right opposite the best of the Parnell shops and conservation area.

Internet access is odd. We were given a free 24-hour voucher for TIVO, but having once logged on, the 24 hour period could not be paused or stopped. Further access became very expensive - $20 for 24 hours. We mentioned this to the manager, who seemed surprised and said he'd look into it. He offered us a free breakfast, or a free night on a return trip, which was very kind of him.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Harbour/downhill. Be prepared to park a short walk from the Inn, or to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyree13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Motel in nice location in the Parnell suburb of Auckland, with lots of places to eat nearby. The motel has a nice coffee shop/light meal place attached. Rooms fine though beggining to need refurbishment. Not high end but OK value for money.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brancacci186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The room was small but clean, tidy and most importantly quiet. This hotel is dated but has a nice cafe attached and is in a very good location, close to all the very good Parnell restaurants. The service was very pleasant and we ended up staying 4 nights. It is very refreshing to find good value for money in Auckland in a good location. Has reasonably secure free parking. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Get one of the units in the north side - they are bigger and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonandLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The room was small and quite basic - this was certainly the cheapest/most basic accommodation we had during our NZ road trip. However, it was clean and everything worked - the shower was plenty hot enough if not the most powerful. There is also an adjoining cafe that does food and drinks from early till late
There is also free parking and the reception was friendly and helpful - even letting us use their internet to check in for our flight.
We had stayed in Auckland on Viaduct Harbour at the start of our trip and wanted to try a suburb at the end. Parnell is great - loads of bars and eateries and a really buzzing atmosphere even on the Wednesday night we were there. It is a bit of a walk to Viaduct Harbour and the Sky Tower from here so probably not ideal for a first time visit, but if you want a more "villagey" feel with great shopping, drinking and eats then Parnell is great.
The other accommodation on the main street looked similar to this motel - we didn't see any luxury boutique properties - and you can't really argue for £66 a night!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Parnell is kind of Auckland's Chelsea and the Parnell Inn is right at the heart of it. Down town is a good 20 minutes walk, maybe 30. As other reviewers have said, the rooms are simple but clean and adequate and our bed was comfortable. The owners are very nice & helpful. The adjoining cafe (different ownership) is great. We paid 125 NZD for one night which, given its location, we thought to be great value. There are some excellent restaurants in Parnell.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristopherG-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#23 of 67 in Auckland
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.2 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parnell Pines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parnell Pines Hotel

Property: Parnell Pines Hotel
Address: 320 Parnell Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parnell Pines Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parnell Pines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parnell Hotel Parnell
Parnell Hotel Auckland
Parnell Motel Auckland
Parnell Pines Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing