We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tour we took in NZ”

Coast to Coast Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sheepworld tour, Wilderness tour, with NEW owner Peter. All-inclusive [pick-up, lunch, wine, and all fees] and geared for cruise ship passengers to enjoy a memorable time around the Auckland region. Half day tours and private tours available. Contact us for more details.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent the day with Stu and he was very informative about Auckland and surrounding areas. We made several stops sightseeing, including a winery, and the beach.
He took us to a wonderful restaurant for lunch and we got to chat with him about the farm. He then drove us out to his farm to meet Donna his wife, their two daughters and the rest of the farm family. We spent time touring the farm with Donna and Stu and a dog or two. Even got to feed the sheep and Maggie. We were welcomed into their lovely home and Donna made us a beautiful afternoon tea. It was delicious! We felt like part of their family by the time we had to say good bye.
I like to keep in touch through FB to see what they are up to.

I would differently recommend this tour.

One a side note Donna took our reservation and contacted us about hotel pick up. Stu arrived right on time.

1  Thank 4mamadot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muriwaidonna, Owner at Coast to Coast Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello there!
Many thanks for your kind comments.
We enjoyed hosting you and the group on your full day tour. It was great you could also meet our daughter’s too. Usually they have just returned home from their city occupations and can manage to poke their heads in to say “Hi” on their way past to run the dogs and check over the farm.
We think it’s lovely that you have chosen to keep in-touch with us via our Facebook page. As you, and many people have noticed, whereas other tour operators show pictures and articles about Public happenings, our page is our *own* news, and especially at this time of the year…our delightful baby lambs which everyone is so enjoying watching. There’s always something going on here!
We have free Wi-Fi available for our guests at our Homestead too, so everyone can catch-up with their friends and relatives.
Take care, and thanks again.
Regards,
Donna & Stu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 90 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

At the end of our cruise we were able to spend several days in Auckland. We surely lucked out when finding Coast to Coast Tours. Stuart was able to comfortably sit 10 of us on a day long tour only developed by a local. He not only shared the beautiful and exotic sites, he shared some insights. One of the best parts was going to his home and meeting Donna. She shared some of the highlights of a sheep farm, landscape and wonderful tea and the Pavlova. I made them for my Chicago book club. It turned out to be the best tour in 3 weeks of travel. JB*

Thank JB *
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muriwaidonna, Owner at Coast to Coast Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello JB,
Many thanks for writing in to TA and also for letting us know that you had great success with your Pavlova making. See… “easy-peasy” eh !? (and totally different to the store-bought ones which most people opt for these days).
Yes, we too had an excellent time with your group, and with you all coming to our home made for extended whanau (family).
Thank you for entrusting us to show you Auckland’s coast and countryside attractions.
Like you, others also say that as a local operator we are able to show you things in a different and special way.
Best regards, and safe travels for the future,
Donna & Stu.
PS…my Pavlova recipe is available from our website!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

***TAKE THIS TOUR!!!*** If you have 4+ hours to tour Auckland (outside of the city), TAKE THIS TOUR!!!
My wife and I saw this on tripadvisor and this seemed to give us exactly what we were looking for; a tour where we don't have to drive, sight-seeing, wine, food, hanging with locals, and we even got to pet some sheep! Stu and Donna really made these Hawaiians feel welcomed in New Zealand! Very down to earth and VERY comfortable to be around! They are definitely beautiful individuals who are happy to do what they do!
Here's our experience (2 people): you call them and make an appointment (we called the day before because we had no idea what to do), Stu comes and picks us up from our hotel in a comfortable and SHIEK ride, and WE WERE OFF!! Because it was just the two of us, the tour was completely catered to what WE wanted to do! FANTASTIC FANTASTIC FANTASTIC!!!
BEST VALUE IN AUCKLAND!

Thank Walter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muriwaidonna, Owner at Coast to Coast Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Aloha Walter!
Thanks for the Mahalo and also for uploading your great pictures!
We’re so pleased you both enjoyed your time visiting our region and coming to our farm & home. Hawaiian culture has so many similarities with New Zealand, as we experienced when we vacationed there last year. It’s also not that far via plane, and there are many more flights to Auckland now, so we are seeing a lot more visitors from Hawaii lately.
Yes, we do enjoy what we do…but this is because people seem to enjoy what we have, as you have outlined in your nice comments.
Please find your tree at these co-ordinates; S36 48.744 E174 27.897
All the very best,
Donna & Stu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Donna and Stu are offering tours that allow you to talk with locals, discover beautiful landscapes and share a bit of their life in the farm. Don't miss their tours, otherwise you will not have the opportunity to eat the New Zealand products such as their famous homemade Pavlova !
Great alternative to shopping and city.

Thank Djoo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muriwaidonna, Owner at Coast to Coast Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Bonjour!
Many thanks for writing into TA.
It was nice having you visit our region, and as we had our honeymoon (and have visited Noumea several times), we enjoyed catching up with your region too!
You will be pleased to know we really enjoyed Wimille Wimereux when we visited France last month…such a lovely little sea-side township…(didn’t we wonder what it was going to be like!?). Thanks also for exchanging our old CFP into the new currency…it was like the World Bank at one stage!
We are pleased your Mother enjoyed our tour too.
Your tree can be found at; S36 48.754 E174 27.907
Best regards,
Donna & Stu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Donna and Stuart do a marvelous job of mixing culture, scenery, and personal attention in a small family environment.
With only 6 of us on the tour, there were several stops, at a Cultural center, beehive, lunch, wine tasting, and west coast beach, but the high point was when we stopped at their home, a working sheep farm.
The personal attention given to us made the tour especially rewarding, with Donna's invitation into her home being warm and soothing. The little extra's they provide and the sharing of their personal stories made the whole experience extra special.
I can't say that I've been on a better tour anywhere, as it was so personal and relaxing

1  Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muriwaidonna, Owner at Coast to Coast Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hello Rod,
Thank you for giving us such great feedback.
As you can read, we’ve been away on our vacation.
Yes, we do aim to keep our tour as personal as possible, so it’s nice to know you felt it so, and liked seeing our farm and home as it’s special for us to share this with our guests.
We trust you continue to enjoy your travels, and we wish you all the best.
Your tree can be found in our farm’s reserves at: S36° 48.747' E174° 27.932'
Regards,
Donna & Stu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coast to Coast Tours also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Coast to Coast Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing