We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food!”

Musashi Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #205 of 2,232 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$28
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: To owner and Chef, Satoru Aoki, nothing is more important than the quality or freshness of his food and he is therefore deeply involved with the overseeing of all ingredients within MUSASHI's menu.MUSASHI not only presents its guests with fine seasonal ingredients and good choice of local wines, it also treats diners to traditional Japanese refreshments such as Sake and Shochu, and beverages.We believe in catering to all individuals' needs and requirements and therefore the menu generously includes choices for those who prefer Wheat Free or Vegetarian options. With many excellent reviews and compliments on MUSASHI dining experience, the staff and team at MUSASHI endeavour to retain that reputable status by providing visitors with exceptional cuisine and impeccable hospitality, every time.At MUSASHI our main goal is to provide you with a well blend of Japanese fusion cuisine, good service and value-for-money dining experience in Auckland where quality is the focus.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I first time in this restaurant. Lunch menu is not extensive but very taste good. However, the service is TOO fast. Staff very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Will go back and try dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Piggy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had lunch today and it was our first time in this restaurant. Food tastes very delicious. Not expensive (Lunch menu anyway).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank washing1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our family favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We feel fortunate to have this just down the road from our family home. Wow always top quality food and such a cute little place to go. Be sure to book to avoid disappointment - it is a small place. As we love Japanese food we've been to a lot of Japanese places around Auckland and this one ranks in our top two for quality, price and of course convenience to us.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

We are so lucky to have Aucklands best Japanese restaurant on our door step .... fresh, tasty and excellent whether you find in or take out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Deteriorated with every visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have been here three times in the last year. The first time for lunch it was great. The next time was for dinner and we thought they were having a bad day so we went again last week.
The food is poor and the service is strange - you normally don't get three different waiters taking your order.
The food quality and portion size was poor. The costs of each dinner dish are close to $30 which seem too high for a suburban eatery with no location plus and poor food and service

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nzvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnAoki, オーナー at Musashi Japanese Cuisine, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Hi Nzvik
This is Musashi Japanese Cuisine, owner Shawn AOKI.
I got your comment from Tripadvisor.
I'm sorry about you was not happy at Musashi Japanese Cuisine.
If you don't mind could you tell me your claim more concrete?
I want to develop our restaurant and I want to make happy.
Which menu was not enough portion? Which menu was not good quality?
Which branch have you visited? St Heliers or Milford? When did you visit?

Sorry about my poor english.
And thank you for reading my email.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musashi Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Musashi Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing