We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Men Tatz Japanese Noodle Restauran
Ranked #1,682 of 2,327 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I visited this place at least twice a week while I lived in Auckland for a month earlier this year. The food portions are gigantic for the price (especially the rice dishes) and delicious. Staff were OK. Not particularly friendly but they did their job well. I wish I lived in Auckland just because of this wonderful restaurant!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YMLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    3
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favourite”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Great food, great prices. The chicken salad is my favourite. Service always excellent, and although it gets very busy at dinner times, there usually isn't a big wait. Gets quite loud over dinner, better for a friendly get-together than romantic dates.

Helpful?
Thank TheEyeForDetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“One word - horrible”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We visited this restaurant sometime a year ago and thought the food was OK and we decided to pay this Ramen place a visit again tonight.

It was Rugby World Cup Australia vs Ireland night. Bars and pubs were busy. We were rather relieved that Mentatz was only 40% full with quite a lot of tables empty. There were 5 of us. They sat us at a table meant for 4.

A waiter pulled out a foldable plastic looking chair from behind the counter and placed it at the edge of the table for the 5th person - not the best start I should say. My friend gave it a go and the chair was too low and was entirely uncomfortable and dining while sitting on that chair was never going to be an option.

As there were MANY chairs empty, he decided to exchange the horrid foldable chair with a proper looking wooden chair just behind him.

A young Japanese waiter saw that and stormed to our table telling us off and demanded we change the chair back to the foldable plastic chair. We explained to him it was too low and uncomfortable. He said one word - "NO" and stood there glaring at us.

Needless to say, we did not even bother arguing with him. We all stood up and walked off. He walked back to the back of the counter with his back to us while we told the other staff what he did was absoutely unacceptable.

Unfortunately, the restaurant staff were not great at communicating in English and had no idea what we were saying.

The whole night was ruined. Thanks Mentatz for making our night so darn memorable - for all the wrong reasons. We will definitely not come back.

Before I finish , this restaurant is small and congested and is absolutely a horrid place to bring a child into. The toilet is small and dirty (from memory of my first visit). If you like dining in a restaurant packed like a sardin can, with rude and unreasonable staff only to have OK food, this would be the place to go.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank -Gary-T-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good pre-show dinner spot”
Reviewed 17 October 2009

order the chicken salads and wasabi ramen, finish with green tea shaved ice within nzd25, fast efficient no frill service let diner get on and move on, couldnt be better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aspironz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Had cha-sieu-men and pan-fried gyoza here. Pretty good. Got 25% discount with the Entertainment Book 2008.”
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Had cha-sieu-men and pan-fried gyoza here. Pretty good. Got 25% discount with the Entertainment Book 2008.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Men Tatz Japanese Noodle Restauran also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Men Tatz Japanese Noodle Restauran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing