We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal on a cold night”
Review of Tasca

Tasca
Ranked #334 of 2,272 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Spanish, New Zealand
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great meal on a cold night”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

It was hard to know what to choose on the menu. Although they also do tapas we were after a main course and everyone felt very happy with their choice. The shoulder of lamb was on the bone, succulent and moist. I noticed that my neighbor only left the bones of her chicken and the paella looked delicious and was full of the most delicious looking goodies. All the food had great eye appeal.

Service was prompt and unobtrusive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FastHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    39
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good tapas and service”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Had lunch with friends here yesterday. I had heard so much about Tasca and was really looking forward to it. A nice spot for our group as we had spent a great period of our lives in Spain. It was raining so we could not enjoy the outside area. The main menu offered really did not inspire me at all, my friend said that there was a tapas menu so we asked for that, that was better. We were with a local and she recommended the bruschetta and calamari and both were very good, not outstanding though. We ordered churos for the table and I did not feel like eating them and they were not reported as that great. We stayed from 12:30pm until five pm and did not feel under pressure to leave at any time. We ordered sangria which was divine. Lots of the diners spoke Spanish which was nice, nice music too. The outside area is really impressive, a lovely spot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice food, authentic styling, central location”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Well, we got Sangria (delicious) and some tapas. The tapas were hot and tasty, and the service was attentive. The restaurant has that gritty grimy feel that I've experienced in some of the backstreets of Madrid, so authentic in that respect. What let it down was the atmosphere: 80s and 90s rock/pop playing the background instead of something Spanish-y. Perhaps a greeting in Spanish would have been nice, even if it wasn't the native language of any of the staff. We went quite early (5pm) so, to be fair, no restaurant has much atmosphere at that hour. But it did leave us thinking: Hmm, Tasca in Newmarket is much better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank collardsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good, except the overly salty sauce on the fish”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Nuffield St branch: This is a regular dining spot for myself, family and friends. Only disappointing feature on more than one occasion was the VERY salty sauce on the fish. This is a creamy sauce and ruined by the salt. Maybe the excess salt seeps out of the olives in the sauce?
You are likely to have a good meal if you avoid the fish.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thoughtfuldancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Soggy pizza, microwaved baked potato.... Disappointing when one has been to the other tasca in mt Eden.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hputman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tasca also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Mount Eden, Auckland Region
 

Been to Tasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing