We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable and fast ramen”
Review of Ramen Daikoku

Ramen Daikoku
Ranked #502 of 2,260 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Reliable and fast ramen”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Good selection of ramen and 'noodle bar' non ramen staple Japanese fast food (excluding sushi) and including combos. Tasty and quick, a bit more expensive than others but still affordable. Closes on the dot at 2pm so go early! Decor 2 star and ready for a makeover.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GourmetNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    23
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Good food”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Small little place not much to look at but really good food. Fast service and cheap prices. I found the staff to be really friendly and the place was packed full always a good sign.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“An off night perhaps”
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

This was my first time here and won't be going back again. I'll just summaries the reasons

- I think a few of the staff were new but the service was very slow. we waited for someone to take our order which took awhile, two drinks came out very fast but my ice tea also took awhile to come out and my fiances glass of water never came out even though we asked two separate waiters for it again.

-one person ordered the karaage on rice dish, bit into a piece and realised it was still raw in the centre! ( raw chicken )we didn't make a fuss, he apologised and said he'll make a new one. all our other dishes arrived except this one and we waited and waited until we finally asked what the story was and he had completely forgotten about it!

-my ramen was nice but I didn't even enjoy it because of this poor service. I would have thought they would have at least waived the cost of the drinks but no. If we weren't in the company of friends we probably would have walked out very early on.

Overall the foods fine but why would you go out of your way to go here when there's so much great Japanese options in the city. This was probably one of my worst eating out experiences so i can't recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvaJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Original Ramen - Best ramen in Auckland”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We found this shop by accident, while walking around Queen St, it is located in one of the alley. Must say the ramen quality is very good and chewy. Soup based is also delicious and perfect saltyness. Get the Ramen combo which gives you additional small servings of rice and beef - perfect to share with your partner / little kids who may want more than just noodle.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank EUTAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
209 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice noodle”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Although they have a nice spicy miso ramen, but try their fried rice as well. Their set menu (with either fried chicken or fried dumpling) is very good value for money. Small restaurant but quite comfortable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ramen Daikoku also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ramen Daikoku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing