We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable Dining with Beautiful Sea Views”
Review of Hammerheads - CLOSED

Hammerheads
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Auckland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Affordable Dining with Beautiful Sea Views”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hammerheads Restaurant on Tamaki Drive is a must for a quality lunch/dinner as the service is good, the prices are reasonable, the selection of food and wines/beers/non-alcoholic drinks are good.

The views over the Hauraki Gulf and of Rangitoto Island, especially in the early evening as it is just getting dark, are very enchanting.

It is recommended that you book requesting a table on the Tamaki Drive side of the restaurant - time-wise, book for early evening before it becomes crowded fro dinner, and before midday for lunch.

A very pleasant experience indeed!

Thank you from :-

Janet and Richard Lambert

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    9
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hammerheads delivers with a great meal and location”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Perfect meal. Wonderful views over the water in the early evening. Plenty of parking and cheap cab from the city.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I had dinner at the hammerhead restaurant few weeks ago with my friends and i have to tell that both quality and quantity of the food are definitely not at the level this restaurant think is.
I'm always happy to pay for quality but not this time unfortunately, very expensive for what it was.
Maybe we had too much expectations.
Good point: The waitress was really friendly and professional.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpto79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Flawless!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My friend and I were driving out towards the city last week to visit the art gallery and stopped in here for a quick glass of wine. Well. We ended up staying two hours later after our impromptu ladies lunch! The maitre-d spoiled us rotten even though he was busy with a lot of other goings-on but had a great sense of humour and genuine-ness (is that even a word.). we got their lunch special for $30 which included glass of vino and a normal main - Fantastic. Perfectly cooked snapper matched with a delicious rose wine. The maitre-d (or manager, what do you call them these days!) must have overheard it was my b-day and what a surprise when he brough out a lovely little sweet plate with Happy Birthday on it. Never had that before at any place Ive eaten or hotel ive stayed at, just a little touch was so thoughtful. I just read some reviews and disagree with so many of them, I can tell there are a lot of fussy people on here with not much alse to do but collect there pension and compain. Enjoy life and make the most of it maybe others will pick up you positive energy and give you a better experience like we had!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandi897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“It was better in times past”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Armed with high expectations from previous visits from several years ago our party of four were all disappointed. The price of food and particularly wine was up there with the best of restaurants but the results ...well not quite so good. However, the location is great overlooking Okahu Bay on the southern shore of the Waitemata Harbour and, on a warm fine night, the outdoor tables could be wonderful. The building has real history too going back to around 1914 as a major steam powered sewage pumping station although that is now apparently "forgotten". Unfortunately, in the conversion of the building, little attention was given to the acoustics and our evening was somewhat spoilt by the very high noise level from other guests that made conversation amongst our party somewhat difficult.

Service struggled to be even average as the staff, most who did not appear to have English as their first language seemed to be relatively new to their role.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hammerheads also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing