We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Domain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domain Lodge
Ranked #22 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Dargaville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A lovely place to stay and very restful.On arriving the lovely lady at front desk was very helpful .We were visiting family at Auckland Hospital across the road and were able to leave our car in the secure car park for the whole time.We would stay again and also tell friends.The rooms were spotless with a small balcony and windows.This hotel is very central.

Room Tip: w.e were in room 410 a studio unit which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaAnn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
15
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Domain Lodge is right next to a large park, a general hospital and a medical school. It is run by the NZ Cancer Society. The accommodation is about a 10 minute walk to downtown Auckland.
It has free undercover parking. I stayed in a double storey unit with a balcony. It was very clean, tidy and modern. Had all the usual amenities. Common laundry area. Staff are very welcoming and helpful. A great quiet location. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with the balcony overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as we need to be near the hospital to give a seminar. It is run by the Cancer Society and the staff are friendly, parking is free and it is near beautiful gardens and the museum.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We spent one night here recently while attending a wedding over the road at the Auckland domain. We had a one bedroom unit, very clean, tidy and well presented. We were travelling with a 1 year old and they provided a portacot and additional linen and towels at no extra cost. The reception staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, great covered parking and they were really flexible about us leaving our car in their carpark even after we had checked out while we did some shopping. Overall, a great experience and would recommend highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fovant2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I spent 3 nights here recently while at a conference at the medical school of the university - just across the street. A very pleasant hotel, very helpful staff, all you would expect from a four star place and such good value!! It is not central CBD, but there are lots of buses only a 10 minute ride away from the centre of Auckland. Also, lots of restaurants, a multiplex and supermarket only about 10 minutes down the road. They have apartments as well as rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 03Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have been staying at the Domain Lodge for the last 4 weeks and are very happy with the nice staff good clean and sunny rooms and cooking facilitys . Best of all , we are contributing to a good cause as the facility is run by the NZ Cancer society . Please consider the positive effect and enjoy your stay in Auckland at a excellent location - can walk to New Market shops as well as Queen street and the Domain Park as well as the Museum and a wonderful Arboritorum are within 5 minutes walk from front door !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stay regularly at this hotel for business as it is right outside the City Hospital and adjacent to the Domain.

The reception staff are helpful and friendly, bag storage is available if you arrive before your room is available, and after you have checked out. I haven't brought a car but I believe parking is free and you can leave your car even after you have checked out.

The two bed apartments are a reasonable size; the twin rooms have outside windows but the main bedroom has an interior window so it can get a bit stuffy. Shared ensuite between the two rooms. The bedrooms are upstairs, no lift so keep this in mind if you can't manage stairs. There is a sofabed in the lounge.

Only the two bed apartments have kitchen facilities. The smaller apartments don't have a kitchen, but the shared kitchen/dining facilities on levels 2 and 3 are large, well appointed, with each room having its own fridge space. There is a BBQ for the more adventuous!

Lovely gardens and patios/decks for people who some outside space. Clean, tidy and well looked after.

The only downside that I am aware of it that the lift is exceptionally slow, so except when I am moving my suitcase I walk - which could be considered an upside as it helps to keep me fit :-)

I think this is a great value place; right on the bus routes and walkable into the CBD if you're feeling fit/keen.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
City Towers
City Towers
#34 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.1 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#44 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments
1.1 mi away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domain Lodge

Property: Domain Lodge
Address: Park Road and Boyle Crescent | Grafton, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domain Lodge is a modern and welcoming motor lodge conveniently located in the central Auckland. An ideal choice for corporate or leisure, especially those visiting Auckland University, Starship and Auckland Hospitals or the vibrant and trendy restaurant and shopping districts of Parnell and Newmarket. More than a motel, Domain Lodge will feel like your home away from home with the best of Auckland at your doorstep. Its tranquil garden setting is a haven offering security and comfort after a busy day in the city. We are proud of our guest facilities and look forward to welcoming you soon. You are assured of a high standard of friendly service and attention. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Domain Hotel Auckland Central
Domain Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing