We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice pics”

Karangahape Road (K Road)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.80*
and up
Auckland Downtown and Waterfront Walking Tour
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice pics”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed at the YMCA very close to Karaghape road during my stay in Auckland, so I used to walk along this road alot. Looking at these pictures brought back some nice memories, thanks for posting.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aleem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    41
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
418 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“perfect for people watching”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Long known as Auckland's red light district, K Rd is now rather more tame. It is still home to numerous 'adult' shops and clubs, gay bars, and old style pubs, but increasingly has some great cafes, bars, and art galleries as they spread down the strip from Ponsonby Road. Seems to have lost its once Pacific Island feel and is now more taken over by newer Asian arrivals. More interesting for people watching than Ponsonby Road, but don't leave your wallet next to you on an outside table - well would you anywhere?

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TWP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locust Grove, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not a funky, cool street, just a dump”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Multiple guide books, etc. mentioned this street as a cool place to visit. Since it was just south of our hotel, we checked it out, but only saw really shady sex shops and dumpy convenience stores, the one we stopped in tried to rip me off. I then avoided this street the rest of our trip, you should do the same.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank JVA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of Halal restaurants”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We can find lots of Muslim halal eateries here and our favourites is Aydin Portugese Grilled Chicken. Very delicious indeed and we really missed the food there. There are also lots of second hand stores. We never feel tired of walking from Simon Street till the end of K Road... we really enjoy our long walk due to the many value for money shops along the streets..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Haizah_Haron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Probably a different ball game at night...”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Unusual shops, anything from sex shops to second hand clothes stores. You could definitely pick up some strange and great souvenirs from K Road. But I'd recommend doing so during the day. It probably gets a bit wild at night, there are plenty of clubs and bars etc. If you're into that kind of thing, go nuts.

PS. If you're thinking of getting a tattoo, K Road is your place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank adamson20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karangahape Road (K Road) also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Karangahape Road (K Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing