We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel with fantastic hosts”

Champers Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Champers Motor Lodge
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great motel with fantastic hosts”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Rooms were very clean; well serviced and quite spacious with many different layouts to choose from. Lovely spa bath in some rooms. Lovely clean pool and BBQ facilities and a great atmosphere due to the laid back friendly hosts with their cute cat and dog.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaleJewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Had a great 6 night stay with our family and little tot.Our host Dave and his wife were very welcoming. Even though we slept in late, they still managed to service our rooms and keep up our clean towel supply. Would definitely go back again. if ever up that way. Thoroughly recommend the stay here. The pool and BBQ's was great too.

Room Tip: Great spot and close to township :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobzstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had two nights here and would recommend Champers. It is on the outskirts of Gisborne but that only means 5 mins to the middle of town. Spotlessly clean and well appointed. The bed is comfy and no road noise despite being quite close to the road. We had a double room which wasn't huge but it wasn't cramped either. The pool was welcome relief - 32 degrees is a lot for us New Plymouth types. Ceiling fans or air-con would be a welcome addition. Debbie and Dave should be out around NZ giving hospitality and management lessons to other motel operators who could learn a lot from these two.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazzaNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed for a family break over Xmas. Had a large family room that was very comfortable. There is plenty of parking and in the room was alot of seating to fit everyone in. The bathroom was large with a huge spa bath and heaps of towels. The rooms were very clean and the owners had left some xmas presents in the room for the next visitors which i think is a nice touch. A news paper at the door in the morning and a swimming pool for the kids to swim in. This motel is on the main road but it is very quiet. The owners are very nice people and this is a place that i will definitely use again.

Room Tip: Room 4 very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed 4 nights recently for a family wedding. Dave, the host, could to have been more helpful! Plunger coffee, Wi Fi, spa bath, soft fluffy towels, comfy beds! Everything was quality - nothing cheap! And very reasonable cost too. The 2 bedroom unit was big enough for the whole family to gather and eat together. Will definitely stay again if we return to Gisborne. The location suited us as its not too far out of town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

had 2 nights here, spotless, well managed, great comfy bed. Owner really friendly & helpful, well recommend. Dave was really friendly and helpful, close to town and central to everything. Very reasonable pricing too. Will stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohope, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

What a great place to stay. Dave was an excellent host...friendly and very helpful. The room was clean, modern, and just perfect for our over-night stay...and the price is excellent too. Beautiful gardens, and attractive pool area.that looks like something from a tropical resort. Thank you for a lovely stay...we know where to stay when we come back to Gisborne.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
2.5 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
2.4 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
273 reviews
4.4 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
#10 of 26 in Gisborne
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Asure Alfresco Motor Lodge
Asure Alfresco Motor Lodge
#8 of 26 in Gisborne
64 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 26 in Gisborne
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champers Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champers Motor Lodge

Property: Champers Motor Lodge
Address: 811 Gladstone Road, Gisborne, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Champers Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Champers Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing