We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great motor lodge”

Champers Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Champers Motor Lodge
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
MAnchester
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great motor lodge”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room number 6, a one bedroom spa unit. Great space and spotless. Great value for the price and David the owner/manager was extremely helpful. It was a bit further out from the centre than we thought, but other than that, it was great. There is a great Indian restaurant/take away about a kilometre away, heading towards town. Definitely recommend to anyone wanting a good self-contained unit in Gizzy.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LizShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Although a little further out of town than I realised when booking, no complaints. A lovely greeting from the lovely Debbie from Luton and a very quick check in. The room was compact, beautifully furnished and immaculately clean, with everything that you could possibly need to make your stay a comfortable one. Sadly, a one night stay only but highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland NZ
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Spouse and self stayed here for two nights on our 7-night jaunt around the eastern part of NZ’s north island - couldn’t have found a better place to stay. While on the edge of town, in mid-suburbia, it is a fair drive to the CBD but!!
Spacious parking, Dave’s hearty welcome, drinks at the pool (BYO), good-sized unit - not new but extremely good – made for a great stay. No idea about Wi-Fi as I leave home for a holiday with internet obligated as a forgotten. Simply don’t want to know about it.
Our unit had a kitchen and bathroom each separate from the sleeping area providing great space – all very clean in every respect. (In retrospect here: our plastic picnic set remains on a kitchen shelf in a plastic bag)
Dave and wife have a niche market of guests which Dave has explained to me but which I will not divulge in case other near-by moteliers read this. This market needs evening meals of gargantuan proportions on certain days of each week. Fortuitously, our stay coincided with such an evening. Dave ( I’m uncertain whether his beloved was also involved and he, of course, gentlemanly, didn’t say) prepared roast lamb with multiple stacked veges, mint sauce & gravy, plus a dessert – of a farmer’s meal size perhaps – for self, spouse and two invited non-resident guests who, poor souls, lived in a caravan at the local holiday camp. The meals, together with a couple of personally purchased bottles of tipple, went off extremely well. Great stuff Dave (and wife even if she only stirred the gravy or mint sauce) and thank you again and again.
Came the morrow and check-out. Dave will support that I asked if his figures were correct as the final Statement of Demand was so low. He convinced me he was correct – as moteliers do.
An exceptionally memorable stay.
Don’t wait for us to return Dave for we are at an age where we may never do so – but if we again visit Gisborne Champers Lodge will absolutely certainly be our temporary address. Don’t go away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent a night in this motel on our recent trip to the center of the Northern Island. We rented a sort of apartment with two bedrooms, a sitting room, a small kitchen and a splendid bathroom. The place was extremely clean and well furnished and we enjoyed very much our stay there. Some of us took advantage of the bathtub with air bubbles (I do not know how to call it in English) to have a relaxing bath, while others preferred the small swimming pool to refresh themselves. The outside views from the room were rather poor though (the windows opened to a close metallic fence) but there was enough natural daylight for us to read or any other activity we wanted to undertake, although to our purposes of spending a day visiting the town this particular aspect was not very important. Therefore, we can recommend this place to any traveler without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This establishment we ( my hubby and I) stayed for 4 nights this January 2014.
It was very clean and with modern facilities with very friendly management.
The room was very well equipped and the queen bed was sooo comfy.
A free wifi voucher is available for you to use, plus you can order a very varied breakfast at a very reasonable rate too!
The onsite pool was very nice and clean with seating and loungers, and free towels to use too!
Sky tv was available in our room via a lovely flatscreen Television and a tv guide too!!
Our room was serviced daily, with free newspapers.
An onsite laundry is available at very reasonable cost..
Free tea, coffee and milk is replenished daily, there was lovely soap and body wash, with lovely clean fluffy white towels changed daily.
I would reccomend this motor lodge to all and we were extermely happy during the time we stayed here.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hunter4holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Rooms were very clean; well serviced and quite spacious with many different layouts to choose from. Lovely spa bath in some rooms. Lovely clean pool and BBQ facilities and a great atmosphere due to the laid back friendly hosts with their cute cat and dog.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaleJewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Had a great 6 night stay with our family and little tot.Our host Dave and his wife were very welcoming. Even though we slept in late, they still managed to service our rooms and keep up our clean towel supply. Would definitely go back again. if ever up that way. Thoroughly recommend the stay here. The pool and BBQ's was great too.

Room Tip: Great spot and close to township :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobzstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
2.5 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
2.4 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
273 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
196 reviews
2.1 mi away
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
#12 of 26 in Gisborne
86 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 26 in Gisborne
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champers Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champers Motor Lodge

Property: Champers Motor Lodge
Address: 811 Gladstone Road, Gisborne, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Champers Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Champers Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing