We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top drawer facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Champers Motor Lodge
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed two nights at Champers and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Received a warm welcome on arrival and nothing was a problem. The team at Champers were so friendly and warm (felt like we had known them for years). Our room was perfectly presented and very smart with all the modern convienences you would expect to find in an upmarket Hotel. The bed was so comfortable. Highly recomended for business or family stays.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for one night as a family of three adults while touring the area. The motel presented very well and we received a warm welcome at reception. We were then shown to the corner family unit (no 4?) which was very spacious and well appointed. We immediately felt at home and relaxed. The unit was also clean and very comfortable and we were able to park at the front door. This place is further out than expected but we found a great Indian restaurant for dinner about 1km away on the left towards the town centre. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this motor lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Everything was perfect at Champers. We had a great stay. The motel room was spotless and nicely appointed. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this motel to anyone. Our stay in Gisborne was fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 89Davidm401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a wonderful weekend staying at Champers Motor Lodge in Gisborne. Champers is presented extremely well and has had a recent makeover by the owners so the rooms were light and bright with fresh paint and carpeting and great amenities. The bed was excellent with nice crisp linen and lovely white comforters with a snuggly fur throw on the end of the bed. Just perfect for a girls weekend away - we were very happy and warm in our room, sheltered away from the brisk autumn mornings and evenings. The owners are so welcoming and friendly and ensured our stay at Champers was great. We will definitely come and stay here next time we are in Gisborne and would highly recommend to travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 364Flossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We can only choose our motels from what others tell us about them. This is why we chose Champers Motor Lodge and why I have put off rating it. I feel as though we were staying in a different motel to the other reviewers and I can only assume that there is a huge variance in rooms. Like so many moteliers were on our month-long trip around New Zealand, the lady manager here was indeed very welcoming and they were happy to advise us where to head for lunch etc. This motel is a long way out of town - in fact it is the very last motel in a long road strewn with others. This is a great advantage to a large part of its clientele - the truckers who park their rigs easily along this road and around the corner as well as people like electricity linesmen etc, all of whom leave fairly early but did not disturb us unduly. The unit we had was old. There is no way around that, despite the motel itself looking quite modern. The addition of two tub chairs was lovely however. The kitchen consisted of an open bench with barely any cupboards or drawers under it and the bathroom was small (toilet, shower, sink) and run down. The bedroom area had a cupboard without a door so the view of the ironing board from the bed was not fantastic. So much could have been done here with a coat of paint, some new soft furnishings and some decent sheets which were cheap, old and in desperate need of replacement. The worst feature of all was that we were in an unseasonably hot spell and the room was like an oven. For some unfathomable reason the door is metal and was so hot it could not be touched from the inside of the room! There was no air conditioning, no ceiling or electric fans and the tiny windows were only able to be opened a crack. Everyone was sitting out the front of their units to try to be cool but ours faced into the sun so that was impossible. This is not acceptable anymore. Would I stay there again? Probably not because Gisborne has lots of motels, most of them equally old I grant you, but most much closer to this lovely town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CurlyandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed in room number 6, a one bedroom spa unit. Great space and spotless. Great value for the price and David the owner/manager was extremely helpful. It was a bit further out from the centre than we thought, but other than that, it was great. There is a great Indian restaurant/take away about a kilometre away, heading towards town. Definitely recommend to anyone wanting a good self-contained unit in Gizzy.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LizShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Although a little further out of town than I realised when booking, no complaints. A lovely greeting from the lovely Debbie from Luton and a very quick check in. The room was compact, beautifully furnished and immaculately clean, with everything that you could possibly need to make your stay a comfortable one. Sadly, a one night stay only but highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.6 mi away
Colonial on Gladstone
Colonial on Gladstone
#17 of 26 in Gisborne
32 reviews
2.5 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
2 mi away
Waikanae Beach Motel
Waikanae Beach Motel
#16 of 26 in Gisborne
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#6 of 26 in Gisborne
80 reviews
2.4 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#14 of 26 in Gisborne
291 reviews
2.1 mi away
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Gisborne
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champers Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champers Motor Lodge

Address: 811 Gladstone Road, Gisborne, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range: £60 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Champers Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Champers Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing