We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Motel”
Review of Senator Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Senator Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

If you are looking for a motel in Gisborne then look no further yhamn the Senator. Karen the manager looks after your every need. The rooms are spacious with large windows / patio doors which lead onto a balcony ovetlooking tht rover / harbour. The location is ideal and laundry including drying is free. The Rivers bar / restaurant is close by and providers good pub type food.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river. First floor better than ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words. It is a pleasure to be able to make your stay as enjoyable as we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a winner alright! From the warm welcome, to the well priced exceptional room, to the view.
I appreciated the ground floor as I am accostumed to overpacking and the car park close to the room.
Unlike a previous review I enjoyed the street level terrace to have a 'knock off' wine outside. I believe the sheers to give ample privacy. The location is perfecto. I had a bath and it is very quiet given it is so close to the city centre.
I can't wait to come back for a holiday stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0ukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your ground floor unit. We think all our units are lovely and they all have a beautiful view of our harbour. Very glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very clean, friendly and helpful. The motel is bang opposite the yacht harbour over a bridge where there are good places to eat. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a small balcony. The whole motel faces a wide road though a relatively quiet one. We were on the first floor and at the far end so the road didn't bother us at all, but because of the road I would definitely recommend a first floor room rather than the ground floor if possible.

Room Tip: Room 16 is furthest from any road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeggottyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words. Our central location and beautiful views are certainly popular with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Excellent location right near the town centre and harbour. USS restaurant 2 minutes away is really VERY good indeed. I found the bed a little soft - personal preference is a harder bed, apart from that it was very good and very spacious room.

Room Tip: Try the USS restaurant and breakfast place (rebu) just up the road was also excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Norton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, General Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay, our spacious rooms and central location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was one of 7 accomodation places we stayed at in the North Island during February, all of similar prices and facilities. 3 of them were pretty much perfect in every way for us and this was one of them! Spacious, light, quiet, clean and comfortable with up to date facilities and excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boydies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have cafe' , restaurants, and shops very close by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed two nights and had an incredibly friendly welcome. The motel is in a great position within Gisborne and very close to some great restaurants and the main street but in a quiet position I'd recommend it to anyone to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jak296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our central location does make it easy to enjoy our local sites and food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My son (adult) and I stayed in January, very impressed, large unit, handy to cafes,cbd. very well appointed, clean, everything you need, we had downstairs unit. with outdoor area, very quiet,and people walking past, all spoke to us. very friendly.No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Upstairs would be better view, but nothing wrong with downstairs, As they were booked out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieTaupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you so much for you kind and honest review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.1 mi away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Colonial on Gladstone
Colonial on Gladstone
#17 of 26 in Gisborne
30 reviews
2 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
200 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Gisborne
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Motor Inn

Address: 2 Childers Road, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Price Range: £79 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Senator Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and comfortable motel accommodation in the heart of Gisborne - Senator Motor Inn offers this and more.Our modern harbour side motel is a two minute walk to Central Gisborne’s shops, bars, cafes and restaurants.Each of our spacious self contained suites has its own balcony with views over the bustling inner harbour marina. From here you can take a relaxing riverside stroll along the riverside walkway to the spectacular Waikanae and Midway beaches in one direction or along the riverside walkway alongside the rivers in the other direction.Senator Motor Inn offers top quality motel accommodation for the discerning business traveller or holiday maker during the week or for those special get away from it all weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Senator Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing